Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 42 Eltingville 4

Posted January 10, 2015
- a parent
Definitely one of the best public elementary schools on the island. I have 2 kids there this year and another starting next year. Lots of school spirit days and the principal is awesome. Before Common Core, I'd have given the school 5 stars, but because there is no outspoken anti-Common Core administration I can only give it 4 stars. Once they start to speak out against the horrible CCSS, it will be 5 stars again!

Ps 42 Eltingville 2

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
My child left P.S 42 last yea. She had the worst teacher ever and when I told the Principles there was no help at all. They looked at me like I was crazy.


Ps 42 Eltingville 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Love this school, both of my kids went to PS 42 They love the principal. Good quality teachers.

Ps 42 Eltingville 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
One of the best, if not the best school on the island. The principal runs a tight ship. Always involved in everything and if you have any problems the staff and teachers are all hands on

Ps 42 Eltingville 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
This school is absolutely the best! Best envirement, best teachers, BEST PRINCIPAL!! I have 3 children,my oldest did not go to P.S.42,therefore I have some experience with other schools.My middle child graduated in June,with tears in his eyes on the last day of school.He went on to middle school ( I.S. 75) with Honors and Thanks to the wonderful teachers at P.S.42,he was well prepared.My youngest is now in 2nd grade,he struggles a bit in school,but has come such a long way,since kindergarten,once again,all my thanks to his wonderful teachers at PS 42...some may say this school is not their "cup of tea" for their own personal reasons,but I say," If you don't like it,change it." In closing,I will tell you "PS 42 IS ONE OF THE FINEST SCHOOLS IN STATEN ISLAND AND IT WILL BE A BITTER SWEET DAY,WHEN IT IS TIME FOR MY YOUNGEST TO MOVE ON TO MIDDLE SCHOOL."


Ps 42 Eltingville 5

Posted January 25, 2012
- a parent
This is my sons first year he is Kindergarten and he absolutely loves this school, teachers, lunch room ladies and everything that is apart of it. He has learned how to read :) and we couldnt have been happier with our choice of school. Everyone at PS 42 is amazing and are always happy to help with any concerns. Thank you to PS 42 for making his school experience so wonderful !

Ps 42 Eltingville
no rating

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
I love P.S. 42 because all of the teachers are so nice and they really care about the kids. They make P.S. 42 a fun place to learn and my children look forward to going to school each day because they love their teachers!

Ps 42 Eltingville
no rating

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
The principal and staff treat my children like there own


Ps 42 Eltingville
no rating

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
Is a safe place with staff that really care about our kids education.

Ps 42 Eltingville
no rating

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
Awesome principal and teachers....great school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 42 Eltingville
380 Genesee Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10312
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (718) 984-3800
Last modified Ps 42 Eltingville is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top