Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 44 Thomas C Brown 1

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
The school is horrible and some of the teachers are mean to the kids for no reason

Ps 44 Thomas C Brown 1

Posted March 28, 2015
- a community member
This used to be my school many years ago. We didn't get away with sloppy writing, everything had to be neat & in its place z& correct! We would have to do it over if not. Teachers need to stand up for the right to discipline, & grades & performance would be much better! We are all failing our kids, by making it too easy on them! Crying shame!!!


Ps 44 Thomas C Brown 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a community member
I remember going to this school back when I was 6 years old. I went everyday with my friend, Kristen. I'm now 16 years old and I miss it dearly. I remember it as if it was yesterday. I would love to visit there sometime again.

Ps 44 Thomas C Brown 5

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
Love the Pre K program, my son loves to go to school everyday. He has an amazing teacher, she is wonderful wish she can move up to the next grade. He has learned so much, reading, writing, drawing and enjoys the music class. The PTA does an amazing job, they truly care for all the kids. They make you feel welcome in the school.

Ps 44 Thomas C Brown 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. Two children in, and one more entering in 2 years. Great bi-lingual ed program starting in First Grade. My high performing children are being pushed beyond grade level. VERY COMMITTED PTA. I have had great teachers, and a professional and committed Principal. The air conditioned auditorium is great, as are the smart boards and mac labs. LOVE THE SCHOOL!


Ps 44 Thomas C Brown 4

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
P.S. 44 makes you feel welcome. Test scores are not everything, if you look at the progress of the the test scores the are improving every year. It is a great friedly school that gives you plenty of options to get involved.

Ps 44 Thomas C Brown
no rating

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
With the collaboration of the P.T.A members, staff, afterschool staff and principals, P.S. 44 has been a great environment for my daughter during and after school.

Ps 44 Thomas C Brown
no rating

Posted August 28, 2009
- a teacher
This school is GREAT and so are the kids, people have to consider that not every child comes from a home with two working parents who are always there for them, give these students a little support and they can go a long way..I have been there and I have seen it also these children will cheer you up if you are ever down.....


Ps 44 Thomas C Brown 4

Posted March 18, 2009
- a parent
This school is the first out of home experience for my child, she loves her teachers, her classmates, everyone is so nice at the office and listens to what I have to say...I love the fact that they wear a uniform...I'm thankful I chose this school to introduce my child to the school setting, I would recommend it to any parent that asks me about a pre-k for their child.

Ps 44 Thomas C Brown
no rating

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
I know what you mean the principle is nice and there is no discrimination but the only thing wrong from this school is that it's like if the children were in prison they don't let the parents see if their children go directly to the class or if they need help they are only allow to the fence of the door it just doesn't seem right.the people who work there are nice and the person who is in the front door helpping the children get off the bus.

Nearby schools

Ps 44 Thomas C Brown
80 Maple Parkway, Staten Island, NY  10303
(718) 442-0433
Last modified Ps 44 Thomas C Brown is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top