Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 45 John Tyler
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Ms. Jodie for doing your best as a new para with my child. Thank you to Ms. DeEsposito for being understanding and compassionate.

Ps 45 John Tyler
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
Homework was enjoyable and just enough everyday. My child never had a problem completing it.


Ps 45 John Tyler
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
They did not earn my child's respect in the 6 weeks she was there. The para was great, and she was developing a bond with my daughter. The school teacher was great and patient with my child. But the staff needs to let them do their job.

Ps 45 John Tyler
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
They treated my child fairly in the classroom. However behind the scenes backstabbing her records.

Ps 45 John Tyler
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 19, 2016
- a parent
This school lied to my face about reopening up my child's IEP to add 'more services', and secretly did classrooms observations without my knowledge, showed them the day of the meeting and then used them to request to transfer my child out of the school while they smiled in my face for weeks saying nothing.


Ps 45 John Tyler
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank my daughter's third grade teacher Mrs.Morales for being so warm and caring which my daughter needs in order to want to go to school. I believe she does her best to individualize the curriculum to suit each child's temperament and learning style- no mean feat in a class of thirty kids. We have been very lucky to be a part of 3-205 this year.

Ps 45 John Tyler 4

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
This school has great teachers who are dedicated to the students. My children loved the teachers. The cafeteria teachers, the assistants, and the principle are all helpful, and caring. The PTA is active. Lots of programs are offered for the children and activities through out the year. The school spirit is felt here. Very nice school.

Ps 45 John Tyler 5

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
My oldest son graduated from PS 45 (and remembers it fondly) and my youngest son is in 4th grade. The education at PS 45 is top notch. The teachers are excellent and under the direction of Mrs. Chavez are encouraged to challenge the students with elements from Common Core way before it was a standard. The enrichment programs at PS 45 are excellent. There are art residencies that are different for every grade level, music programs, a swim program for second graders, and a reading program for higher level readers; all of which are just a few of the great enrichment programs offered at PS 45. Mrs. Chavez and rest of the staff are easily accessible to parents. My son absolutely enjoys going to school! He feels challenged and enjoys all of the enrichment programs he is involved in. I believe the education offered at PS 45 is well-balanced.


Ps 45 John Tyler 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
I have 3 children at PS45 and am beyond thrilled with the education they are receiving. The "D" rating the school recently received was not justified as all of the data reflects student performance has greatly improved over the years even with the new,vigorous state tests. Common Core requirements were being implemented over the past four years with a tremendous amount of work on the part of Mrs Chavez and her amazing staff, long before anyone knew what Common Core was. The teachers are extremely committed with many coming in early and staying late. The children are happy to go to school. Mrs. Chavez is readily available to discuss any issues and welcomes suggestions to enhance the school. The school offers many opportunities for parent involvement. My children are receiving a wonderful education!

Ps 45 John Tyler 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
I just read the review about being so happy with PS 65. My child was at the school of innovation. However only after a short few weeks I realized there was absolutely no innovation. There are no extras for the students at all. It is a nice small school but no innovation, no gym and administration very hard to talk to. At PS 45, the enrichment programs go above and beyond. The teachers are superior and the principal and aps are very assessible. I do agree there should be a more aggressive address check but we cannot all be lottery schools. Having music, violin, band, arts, architecture, snacktivities , swim, chess all in the school day makes this an A+ school. Just lacking parent involvement but so was 65. My children love PS 45 and are receiving a fantastic and well rounded school experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 45 John Tyler
58 Lawrence Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10310
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. (718) 442-6123
Last modified Ps 45 John Tyler is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top