Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 48 William C Wilcox

Public | K-5 | 551 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

P.S.48 is an excellent school that has teachers who really push and care about the children. Great teachers my son loves his school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

PS 48 is an amazing school. My daughter has been attending it from Pre-K thru 5th grade. The principal Mrs. Mammolito is highly experienced and approachable. Teachers encourage children to work hard, and challenge them according to their abilities. This school enables kids to perform their best in academics. PS 48 has many programs that inspire kids to express themselves. Guggenheim museum art program, school band, theater, circus, ballroom dancing and girls heritage program Her-Story. There are a lot of extracurricular activities available at school. Newspaper, fencing, basketball, ballet, Zumba, you name it. In 2013, his year, PS 48 has become a PreK-8th grade school. It has been expanded and moved to a brand new state of the art building. The new school has an auditorium, library, laboratory, art and music classrooms and many other facilities that enhance the learning experience for our children. Overall, I give it a five stars out of five, because I could not have asked for more from an elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

my school is fantastic..the teachers and staff are wonderful. my son loves going to school and has learned so much.. beautiful new school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

Fact: You can always build a bigger school somewhere else. Fact: The same curriculum is being taught all over the city. So, ask the majority of parents at PS48 and they'll all agree on one thing: it's the amazing principal, administration and teachers that make it such a great school. And for those who feel it's overcrowded; the problem is not that a class has some 30 kids! As long as rules are clearly set and followed, and the teacher knows how to handle the kids, then you can rest assured that they're all learning & having fun too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

My kids have only been in the school for a few weeks but I am pleasantly surprised by what a wonderful school we have found! It really is a diamond in a sea of blah on Staten Island. I have high hopes for my children in this school. I am still getting to know the staff and teachers but the parent coordinator is just wonderful and was one of my first points of contact at the school. She is always available for questions and is so involved. So far so good!! Can wait to see what comes next!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

The worst school ,If you really looking to have NYC ACS at 12:30am to your House, reported from Kristina being late 12minutes to pick up your child,than you should keep your children to this school,.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

I must admit my son was extremely nervous to start kindergarden but after the first two days the teacher made him feel very comfortable and now he doesnt want to miss a day. The teachers make everything fun. While they are playing they also are learning. He reads and writes on his own. Very proud of Ps48
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

I am very happy with the school but the school is too crowded. There seem to be kids who are not zoned for the school, but I have no clue how they ve been admitted there. There has to be some kind of verification that DOE can do. They should not let these things happen. A lot of favors go on. My son s class is crowded 30+ kids and I can bet most of them aren t zoned for the school. No other problems that I could see with the school. Teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

I have had children in this school for the past 5 years. I cannot be happier with the principal and teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

P.S. 48 is a victim of its own success. It is severely overcrowded and filled with out-of-zone scammers and Petrides' teachers' kids admitted out of professional courtesy. They really need to verify where people are living. It isn't fair to those of us for whom it is our actual zoned school. The school is full and turns away in-zone people. Other than that, seems okay, but should have more phonics and less emphasis on sight words in the early years. Also, one of the social workers working with the early grades is more than a bit over zealous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

Best elementary school ever! The teachers are very nice and best of all they make school fun!


Posted November 4, 2011

CONT. JOIN P.S.48 and together help make it a better place and please dont listen to one bad review I understand everyone has their flaws but seriously its the right thing to do. If i can i would want to be younger and reattend school. If you consider this school tell the principal that you read my review, Suzie Nisthauz is the name and im positive you will never forget it because 48 helped me reach my ambition of becoming a preformer and i SUCCEDING ! The next time you might see me is in the big screen , all thanks to 48. Do the right thing and send your children nieces nephews cousins friends kids send everyone to 48, they are expanding because of YOUR demands , please do the right thing.


Posted April 27, 2011

PS 48 is a wonderful school for children to grow and learn. My child is excelling there and couldn't be happier. The teachers are wonderful and easy to talk to. Communication between faculty and parents is more than I could ask for. It is a very family oriented school and they have a lot of wonderful events. I'm so glad that my child is able to attend such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

It is interesting to note that this school is indeed very good as all the reviews have indicated here and it does deserve the 10 rating. My son had many problems when he was attending pre-school that we were very concern if he can handle the "mainstream" school environment when he entered into kindergarten. However, as time progressed, the school (or teacher) magically turned my son around as he is now doing very well in the kindergarten class. I guess the school does a good job in making a challenging curriculum and entertaining as well. Its parent coordinator, Terry Guthrie, does an excellent job in entertaining the parents questions. The only problem I see with this school is the space which the school is addressing by building a larger new school in the near future. It would be nice if this new school can be built as a K-8 school instead of its existing K-5 school but I'm not sure that it shall happened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

We are educators in the private and public sectors. Neither of us can imagine another better place to bring our children every day. They feel physically and emotionally safe in this colorful building. Staff members on every level are warm, supportive and professional. There is a broad and balanced commitment to educating the whole child, character, academic, physical, civic and artistic. Every child is treated as a special individual. We feel included and valued as parents in the school community. What more is there?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The school staff and administration is amazing. I have had such a great experience having my son there and look forward to my daughter attending next year. The teachers and principal are the best. I also love the fact that parents are so involved and fight for special programs etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I love PS 48 because the people who work there are kind are real, they show affection to the children and parents of this fast growing community. This schools logo states that 'we're not just a school, we're a family', and they truly make it feel that way in every way. When I enter PS48 i know i will be greeted with the ever so friendly staff, I always feel welcomed and know that what ever questions or needs I have will be answered in the most respectable way. PS48 is a great school for families to experience a safe environment, a well rounded education for their children and the best learning experience any school can offer!!


Posted March 22, 2010

My child is new to the school. I feel the principal is wonderful, however some of the teachers seem unapproachable. The biggest drawback is the overcrowding and lack of space for the children. There is no gymnasium or auditorium, only a very small 'use it for everything lunchroom'. The children are often stuck in their extremely small classroom all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

PS 48 is a nice school. My son enjoys going to school everyday and I feel extremely comfortable dropping him off and knowing that he will be well cared for. The teachers are wonderful and caring! The PTA is EXCEPTIONAL! They are so dedicated to this school. They provide a huge positive impact to this school and it would not be the same without them! The afterschool programs and family nights are fun and educational. Of course there will be parents who are not happy with some aspect of the school, but you cant please everyone and no school is perfect. But I would say that this school is pretty great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

My daughter couldn't even stay another year the kids were so terrible to her and the principal definitly had problems!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Female54%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander45%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities6%
General population51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English46%
Non-migrant43%

Math

All Students57%
Female50%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities11%
General population68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Non-migrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Female50%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities15%
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%

Math

All Students62%
Female65%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities25%
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%

Science

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities89%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities10%
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%

Math

All Students49%
Female45%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities5%
General population62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 61% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 19% 9%
Hispanic 1 16% 23%
Black 2 5% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 29%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 245%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 70%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 354 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents32273%
Teachers32100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JACQUELINE MAMMOLITO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1055 Targee St
Staten Island, NY 10304
Phone: (718) 447-8323

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Academy of St. Dorothy
Staten Island, NY


Ps 57 Hubert H Humphrey
Staten Island, NY


Ps 46 Albert V Maniscalco
Staten Island, NY


St. Ann School
Staten Island, NY



Ps 11 Thomas Dongan School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT