Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are not only knowledgeable, organized and passionate, they are great mentors. We are always well informed on our child's performance and progress.

Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Most of the time the home work is complemented with additional fun activities that are correlated with the core material, such as kid's journals, puzzles, myon.com, reports based on their field trips, to name a few. Therefore, the home projects are efficient and helpful.


Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
We witnessed the preparation for the school performance last year. The teachers managed to stage 1.5 hours of kids' concert within a short period of time. It took a lot of rehearsals and dedication. The performance was captivating and flawless. School showed their dedication towards nurturing education through art. Our son's class took multiple trips to Guggenheim Museum throughout the year. All children worked and completed their amazing creations. We also have seen dedication and persistence in participating in city competition of young innovators.

Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Discipline and hard work are true indications of nurtured respect. We hear from the teachers and school staff, that children demonstrate impeccable behavior not only during the class, but also in hallways and outside of the school. Children are very courteous and attentive.

Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
One of the main reasons why our son loves going to P.S. 048 is because of the great friends he had made at this school. Our son's teacher, Mrs. Grandstaff has cultivated strong team work and helped to develop sense of camaraderie and at the same time personal responsibility.


Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
We see honesty, integrity and fairness in how are children interact: they are compassionate to each other at all times; they really enjoy working on team projects; they strive to get their work on time. Our son truly loves participating in all extracarricular events with his classmates such as invention competition, Guggenheim trips and class performances.

Ps 48 William C Wilcox 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The principal, Ms. Mommolito is a true leader, who has a dedicated, knowledgeable and professional staff. We are very happy that our son is in great hands.

Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
We would like to thank our son's 3rd Grade teacher, Mrs. Grandstaff for her exceptional work as a teacher and a true leader. Mrs. Grandstaff made a great difference in our son's education by cultivating organizational skills, team work and interest in studying and education. Our son's approach to studying had changed dramatically since the beginning of the year. Max not only gladly goes to school now, but also works independently and diligently on all his projects. We are grateful to Mrs. Grandstaff, our teacher and Mr. Mammolito, our principal for such amazing and professional staff. Sincerely, Treygers


Ps 48 William C Wilcox 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
In my opinion the principal lacks leadership skills needed to address bullying I believe this principal is more interested in her cushy 6 figure salary than the emotional well being of children in her care. Administration is friends with parents on Facebook. If you have a disagreement with another parent, do you want the other parent friends with the assistant principal on Facebook.? After informing a popular mother I would not tolerate bullying my child was forced to endure cruel social isolation! This mother had the skills needed to fracture my child's other friendships and turn her into a social outcast. EVIL. teachers, parents, children participated in it. I fully believe it was condoned by the principal. She doesn't want to be responsible for complaints of bullying should your child suffer an adverse outcome. Her goal : to intimidate you into staying quiet. If you complain, beware, you'll be punished !! your child won't be chosen for the class play, won't be invited to parties, will be told to "go away" . I now understand why parents believe " don't complain, it will make it worse. " Protect your child. Get audiovisual evidence,submit it to the chancellor . So Sad .

Ps 48 William C Wilcox 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
P.S.48 is an excellent school that has teachers who really push and care about the children. Great teachers my son loves his school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 48 William C Wilcox
1050 Targee Street, Staten Island, NY  10304
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (718) 447-8323
Last modified Ps 48 William C Wilcox is a Public school that serves grades PK-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top