Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 50 Frank Hankinson

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 783 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2012

I had 3 children go through this school. 2 did okay, because they were excellent students with no issues. My third child did not fair well. If your child requires extra attention, this is not the school for you. If your child requires "down time", eg-recess, or break times, this is not the school for you. The teachers try their best, but they do not receive adequate support from the administration. The principal and her assistant principal, are more than happy to make suggestions to parents, but are not willing to back them up at CSE meetings. The school psychologist and guidance counselor a are a joke!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

If you value recess, then P.S 50 is not for you. Your child might be the lucky one, if his/her class is given a pitiful 15 minutes of recess once a week. The administration claims this is due to being understaffed, and they do not have money in the budget to hire someone to watch your child. Your child will just have to deal with the pent up energy, and try not to let the restlessness affect their concentration in class. It seems the admin. is more concerned about their union contracts rather then what is best for you child. My child is in the 1st grade G&T class this year. There is a much greater emphasis on reading/writing in this school. Math & Science assignments are NOT challenging at all. During the G&T open house the kids showcased thier violin skills. Then violin lessons were cut from the budget. There is not much difference, between G&T and the regular curriculum If you do decide to send your child to this school, at least get involved with the PTA (seems to be the only avenue) inorder to fight for improvements, otherwise settle for an average education. Good Luck to you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

I have 2 daughters in the G&T program at PS 50 and I am very happy with the education that they have received so far. Both of my daughter's teachers have been excellent educators and truly care about their students' academic achievements, as well as their overall well-being. Whenever I need to address an issue/concern with either teacher, I find that they are very responsive and am satisfied with their response. My only wish is that they bring back their drama program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

I thought this school was great i did very well. I loved this school and i hope my sister does too. but some teachers and the principal isn't that perfect but other than that awesome!!! :-)


Posted August 9, 2011

This school is fabulous! My child was in the first grade G & T class and received a wonderful education. The class was large, but was taught by a wonderful, caring teacher. I was amazed by the rigorous instruction and how much my child learned this year. I'm thrilled my child attends this school and I'm so grateful to have had such a wonderful, dedicated teacher this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

Ps 50 is an exellent school with great teachers and supportive parents . I believe my child is recieving good education and preparation for middle school. The G and T program is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

This school has G & T program, a lot of after-school programs. Teachers and all workers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

This school lacks professionals. The principal of the school is so unapproachable. I spoke with her on the phone and she was so unprofessional. She was talking to me like I was a child. She was more like the wicked step mother personality. She has to remember YES she deals with children all day but when speaking to adults she needs to be a little bit more professional. Where did she obtain her degree? When you call into the front office its even worse. It's like no one has been in a professional environment. They practially rush you off the phone and sound really annoyed at any question you ask. This school has awful teachers. need to call District 31 and check out PS50's TRUE report card. Unfortunately when it comes to public school you really don't have a choice. But if they change the administartion it might get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

This school is dedicated to helping the students learn and offers rigorous instruction, along with a dedication to the arts! Of course the dedicated, friendly staff is a plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

My two kids are in P.S. 50 now. The school and teachers offer different kinds of opporutunities for kids to learn new thing. Such as poetry show, drama, music, reading... Also, each kids has chance to go to stage to show their talent. I think this is increased kids confidence. In addition, teachers in there are very responsibIe. They contact me regarding my kids behavior and discuss with me how to solve the problem together. I am glad that my kids are students of P.S. 50.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

P.S. 50 provides an intimate, nurturing, energetic environment. It's all about the students in this school; there are no hidden agendas - the priority is absolutely 'spot on.' The administration and teaching staff look to interest and involve the students in activities relevant to today's learning needs. They have created an inviting, happy environment where children actually look forward...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My son is in the 2nd grade and has been a student here since Kindergarten... he absolutely loves it and frankly so do I!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

My son is in the 2nd grade and has been in this school since kindergarden...he loves the school and all of the staff at the school...I personally love it too, the school is great and the staff is wonderful....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

A fabulous school with a strong literacy program and an integrated, prolific fine arts department. A great administration, faculty and staff are working in tandem with parents and focused on the development of each child as a whole person. P.S. 50 is focused on instilling a passion to learn and create.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

This is my daughters first year at PS 50, and only 3 days into the school year, I am very pleased. It is my, as well as any of my children's first experience with Public School in general. Coming from a Private School upbringing, I was very hesitant, and worried about the transition, and am glad to say it's going smoothly. I attended the first PTA meeting, and was astonished how they actually involved the 'parents'. The board was friendly, approachable, and willing to accept newcomers without that feeling of being a 'newbee'. I have another child still in private school, which is his 6th year, and still have to beg to get involved with any events. My only regret is that I didn't make this switch sooner...keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

My son attends PS 50. I have had only positive encounters with the teachers and staff. I think the school is wonderful....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

This is my sons 1st year at the school. The Staff Teachers and PTA are wonderful. I am very pleased with the way he is learning and adjusting. The school also does alot of fun projects to get all of the kids involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Well, my only experience is with my daughter in Kindergarten this year with Miss Oliva - who happens to be the best teacher I could have hoped for. She is very involved and so anxious to help any way she can. She always returns a call or a note so quickly. The school itself is really nice, clean, safe...I think that's whats most important...Since my daughter is just in kindergarten, she hasn't really been tested in any way so I can't comment yet. If you are looking for special ed - I have knowledge of two of the special ed teachers in the school (they are also my sons ABA therapists in my home every day of the week - my son is autistic. I think they are wonderful and when the time comes, I would have no problem sending my son to PS 50 as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

All the teachers are so caring and make sure the kids are involved in school. Will miss them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 79% 48%
Hispanic 2 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 8% 9%
Black 1 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 232%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 71%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 417 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents37957%
Teachers3869%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOSEPH SANTELLO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Adelaide Ave
Staten Island, NY 10306
Phone: (718) 987-0396

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Charles School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 23 Richmondtown
Staten Island, NY


New Dorp Christian Academy
Staten Island, NY


Ps 53 Bay Terrace
Staten Island, NY


Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
Staten Island, NY


St. Patrick''s School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT