Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 52 John C Thompson

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 618 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

The school seems to have a pretty decent student and parent body, but the management is definitely not up to par. We were very excited to be in this school at first, but over the course of the year my daughter's favorite word when described the school was "boooring" - in reference to both her class and latchkey program. In my opinion the program was not challenging at all, although the daytime teachers were nice, but the latchkey after school experience was the worst. As a result, we took our daughter out of this school into a private school. What a difference it was and totally worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

Teacher quality is low. The teachers do not put in enough effort to ensure students are learning the material. I have heard the excuse, several times, that there are too many students in class that they do not have the time to ensure students are completing classroom assignments, etc.; thus learning the material.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

My son just finished his third grade here. No challenging home work, if there is any. The teacher never cared to check student's work. The principal is a nice woman, however unable to organize strong curriculum and discipline for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

I am a parent of two kids attending PS52, kindrgarten and 5th grade. While kindergarten teacher is great and tought my child a lot throughout this year, 5th grade desires to be better - kids dont get any homework since end of april after state exams, bored and not involved. Levels of Math in 5th grade are not what we are looking for. Principal Ms.McCord and assistant principal Ms.Moncado are very good and know all kids by names - very involved. My kids love the school. though I would make some improvements - cleanliness of the bathrooms, latch-key area, AC in the auditorium, but overall very satisfied with the school and my kids achievments there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

I am a former parent there and was on the PTA. With the new Principal, Jane McCord, the school continues to be a gem in the neighborhood. The teachers are very good, there are a lot of activities and you can really get a solid education. We miss PS 52 - both my kids are in middle school now. Don't let the NYC progress report fool you. This is a "B" school making it's way to an "A". Those reports don't mean a thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

I am a former student of P.S. 52. I remember all the wonderful teachers and always feeling safe and secure. This school is so advanced that after I graduated I opened my 6th grade textbooks and already knew everything in them. Thank you all at 52 for everything you taught me. You have left a lasting impression on me and my family.


Posted November 11, 2010

P.S.52 is a wonderful school and deserves to be recognized for its dedication to professionalism and care. Everyone is always Smiling and willing to lend a hand or ear. My boys and I Love this School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Very helpfull and caring staff , Assistant Principal A.Moncada, Parent Coordinator D.Galyas, and all admin staff . Most of the teachers just excellent and always there to help the kids .Special Thanks to Band Director Shannon Maloney, Literacy Coach Laeta , Scinece teacher D . Consoli, Marie Venditti, Christine Volpe, Annette DeCarlo. Hope that wiht the new principal this school will be one of the best on the S. I .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Caring loving staff eager to teach and give the best of themself to get the best of our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

P.S. 52 is a great school. My children enjoy going and are getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

My Grandchildren go there and they are all doing very well. They look forward to going to school every day.


Posted November 1, 2010

It is a wonderful school!!


Posted November 1, 2010

My favorite thing about P.S. 52 are all of the wonderful teacher's. Through the years, they have really taken the time to help my child learn and grow. They are genuinely concerned and involved in their students progress and go above and beyond every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

great hard working teachers
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 28, 2010

Close to home and my son has learned a lot from this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

你为什么爱P.S. 52约恩 汤普森?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

This has been a good school for my three children. I have one regular ed student there now. One special needs student. My 12 year old attended the school as well. Their best subject has been math. Their weakest is ELA, however, there has been great improvement with the curriculum over the past 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

Great teachers and a supportive environment...especially to children with special needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 23, 2010

The school has an outstanding arts program. It's why my children want to come to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

THE STAFF REALLY WORKS VERY HARD AND THERE IS A POSITIVE AND HAPPY ATMOSPHERE AMONG THE TEACHERS, ADMINISTRATION, AND OTHER STAFF MEMBERS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 74% 48%
Hispanic 2 15% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 9% 9%
Black 2 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 257%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 60%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 375 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents34482%
Teachers3169%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JANE MCCORD

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 Buel Ave
Staten Island, NY 10305
Phone: (718) 351-5454

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Ann School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 11 Thomas Dongan School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 38 George Cromwell
Staten Island, NY


Ps 46 Albert V Maniscalco
Staten Island, NY


Academy of St. Dorothy
Staten Island, NY


St. Christopher School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT