Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 53 Bay Terrace 5

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
Nothing bad to say about this school, they are all about the children, they have a great music/band program.

Ps 53 Bay Terrace 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school! Feels like a family! All of the staff are very warm and friendly. As a parent I feel very welcome when I come into the school.. It makes communicating very easy. I have 2 children in this school. They are so happy here. It seems like the staff really takes the time to get to know the children's names and the children feel at home and look forward to going to school! The Principle is amazing. She really sets the tone of the school. You can tell that the teachers are very happy here and it trickles down to the students. Wonderful atmosphere, wonderful school!!!


Ps 53 Bay Terrace 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I really like the school. Everyone is caring and nice and always lets you know when there is an issue with your child. I agree that they should have more gym classes during the week and actually do sports with them so that they are not overwhelmed when they get to junior high.

Ps 53 Bay Terrace 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
My son goes to ps53 .i think the school its great ,teachers are great ,I think they should add more sport activities. for the kids and more gym classes weekly

Ps 53 Bay Terrace 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
I love my sons new teacher. Her name is Ms. Watt in Pre-K. As a newcomer to this school, I am very satisfied with the communication, cleanliness, curriculum and activities held with the PTA. My son is very comfortable in her classroom and enjoys coming to school which is most important!


Ps 53 Bay Terrace 5

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with this school. I feel like they are an extended family because the school environment is so caring and nurturing. The principal, Ms. Esposito and Vice Principal Mr. Reformato are truly amazing people. They are always around, whether I am dropping my daughter off in the morning or picking her up from Latchkey. Their incredible leadership extends to all the staff I have come in contact with. I consider myself truly lucky to have P.S. 53 be my kids' zoned school.

Ps 53 Bay Terrace 5

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
My daughter went there and it is a very good school. The teachers are really great there and are interested in the kids doing well.

Ps 53 Bay Terrace
no rating

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent


Ps 53 Bay Terrace
no rating

Posted October 23, 2010
- a parent
There are quality teachers working in this school who care about their students and helping them to succeed. The faculty and staff make parents welcome and encourage parents to be an integral part of their child's experience at P.S. 53

Ps 53 Bay Terrace 5

Posted October 23, 2010
- a parent
I love PS 53 because not only is it considered one of the best elementary schools on SI but it is a warm and nurturing school as well. They care about their students. The office staff wonderful and easy to talk to. They have an amazing parent coordinator who is approachable, kind and caring. She goes out of her way to make each event at PS 53 spectacular. I am a graduate of PS 53 and I am so grateful my children have the privilege of graduating from their as well.

Nearby schools

Ps 53 Bay Terrace
330 Durant Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10308
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (718) 987-8020
Last modified Ps 53 Bay Terrace is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top