Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 54 Charles W Leng

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 907 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

I am extremely disappointed with this school on a scale of 1-10 I would have to give it a 1 and thats being generous. It has changed drastically within the past three years, if the DOE doesn't revamp the school soon I see it being rated as one of the worst school's in NYC. The principal and the assistant principal have no leadership skills. There are many teachers in that school who speak to children very negatively and make indirect threats. I am very sad this last year my child will attend this school and its not ending in a good way. This is a time of excitement for the upcoming graduation and its more like a countdown to when we no longer have to deal with the black cloud known as PS 54.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

Athough there are attempts for make better changes, on a good day, all admin are barely acceptable and half the teachers in each grade are ok at best. There are 1 or 2 quality teachers in each grade. Way too much tolerance for teachers yelling and in the wrong profession. School needs new teachers who will try harder and stop complaining, get to work on time, teach the core. without always yelling at the kids. Out with the old in with the new and the school will be hoppin again. Need a much better music teacher and program. Very diverse a bit too diverse filling up Kumon to one up the others.PTA weighs in with their say a bit too much and get too much. SLT needs more of a say. Immigrants from about 6 different countries are coming to the year in droves year after year barely speaking english. Admin could be better at addressing issues need better staffing and programs. Admin does try though, lets have a good 2013-2014. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

School needs higher standards. There are changes being made. Hopefully one is after school tutoring and all children get a chance at the cool jobs in the school not just the PTA children or vocal parents , nor just the head strong kids, nor just the blue collar service children. Maybe my children will get a run at a good job or grades this year because he made the grade and earned it. My childs teacher should not have been allowed to return to the classroom she yells not instructs.All Admin try but can do better at being reasonable, truthful and direct. Hopefully this year there admin will follow through on a issuse that needs to be addressed. Needs stronger staff not just loud harsh ones. If after school tutoring was offered I would feel better about the school and my son not getting lost and overlooked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I agree with you about the change in priorities. The old Principal, Mrs. Castley really cared about the children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 13, 2013

This school used to be one of the best. My kids have been in this school since K. This year they were 3rd and 4th graders. Basically, they taught they kids how to take the state wide test rather than teaching basic language and math skills. If something was not on the test it wasn't taught. As a result my kids are no longer going to this school. The teachers also teach the same thing every year, it never changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

Exactly my point! The kids who get clarity at home succeed. But what about the kids who don't? All I'm saying is that its great if your kids are doing well. They are obviously getting support at home. However, leadership should not depend on all parents being as supportive as you are. We cant let some kids fall through the cracks. I think the principal does not have her act together. She is unprofessional. I just don't see her as a leader. Its a good thing she has parents like you to carry her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

Good school, good leadership turning the school around in positive ways. Leadership is carrying the standards of the DOE. High standards academically and safety. The core learning continues, Lots of enrichment and differentiation.as the DOE expects.. NYDOE expects some teachers in all schools to be on a learning curve teaching a new core curriculum which is the new state test. The best solution to ensure student success is to have good clarity, good education, good behavioral practices at home and your child will find their way no matter what. Provide them with help at home or on your time after school. This school has a lot to offer and we all try our best. Each year the neighborhood is more and more diverse making a sense of community difficult. Some Families need to learn the language to help their children succeed.The school is better place this year and has been brought up from the fall 3 years ago from the last administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

very good programs, family events. Leadership added high standards and enrichment. Leadership addresses concerns. My children do well. I agree with other poster education and values begin at home. I prefer to spend time teaching my children good study habits, how to behave and help them with their studies. Curriculum has changed in public and catholic schools listen to the information communicated at school its not just test prep its a new curriculum as suggested by the State. Schools leadership is good, respectful, positive and better and better. Schools are not clinics nor clinicians. My children like it here and have good grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

Judy Barbarino is another who works with us. So overall,the staff is great! the parents all seem very nice,and the children that my daughter became friends with are great. The school seems to have some great trips,and some great programs,but not enough unfortunately. I know that is due to lack of finances though,so it isn't the schools fault.I also wish that the school taught spanish from kindergarten through the fifth grade.My major concern though,is that the staff don't talk enough to each other about what is going on,so one doesn't know what the other just said on certain specific issues.That is the main thing that they need to work on,so that way if a child needs help in any way,they can all try and work together with the parent,and all know what each other is doing in that instance. Besides that,my daughter is very happy her and loves the school.Just also wish that they had after school tutoring every day,or some kind of independent reading after school at the school library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

For the parent with the lice complaint and negative comments, we all heard about the crazy lice lady. We believe you were told by the Department of Health that the school has followed every protocol correctly. As for the bashing of the school and administration...really sad. The principal is trying her best. The AP was absent due to major surgery. Hope you get more sympathy if you need surgery one day. Hey, why were you not at any of the PTA meetings on the new standards or ways to volunteer. Well, farewell... and I do believe lice can find their way to catholic schools at time. Good Luck. One step closer to building a better community without negative, mean members. Oh, and their new test prep books are awesome..guess you miss seeing them. Feeling itchy?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

The amount of lice outbreaks in this school are UNACCEPTABLE. They allow the child to return to the class room 2 day later WITH LIVE EGGS IN THEIR HAIR!!!!!!!! Disgusting! Somehow the health "Nurse" is not responsible to check the children when they return...this is just ignorant and incompetent. The teaching Staff is STUCK in the 1980s 1990s at best. My daughter entered this school way ahead of the curve and is so severely lacking now! I was never an advocate for religous schooling But we are taking her out next week before the city wide exams which her teachers have failed her and the other students miserably. Whatever my daughter has learned is due to my wife and I and the help of after school tutoring. God help you if English is not your primary language. Promotion in doubt letters are just handed without a care. Workbooks are SO outdated you CANT write in them!!!!. When they finally get new work books the staff is doesnt KNOW how to use them. They just assign busy useless work and WASTE TIME and teach NOTHING! whos to blame? the teachers? the principal? the absentee AP? This school received a failing grade of C but it should be an F- AVOID this school like the PLAGUE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

School is HORRIBLE!!!. My son got bullied many times in kindergarten and when confronting assistant principle her response was"their kids, they will grow out of it" REALLY?? This lady is helping to run a school and this is how they do it? Not to mention his teacher was horrible, rude rude rude. when I pick up my child staff is always complaining. The only great thing was they had a wonderful nurse! And the lady in charge of latch key!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

I love this school! especially Mrs. Krachenfels! She helped my son succeed in to a fine student. The teachers are very caring, loving and great at teaching concepts! Both my boys excel in school thanks to them. I love the different academies they have for fifth graders! My son who was in Science and Technology Academy learned so much and became fascinated with science! Under Mrs. Krachenfels teaching he received all 4's for his citywide Math and LA! Love the school, teachers and the principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

This school is very good. The teachers are excellent, especially Mrs. Krachenfels who helps you succeed in any subject mostly in math, science and english. She was an amazing teacher. The negative thing about this school; is that the teachers especially, Ms. Cacasse takes in too much bribery from students' parents and its despicable what she does. She should be fired.


Posted November 9, 2010

This school is AWFUL! The teachers all look miserable as if they hate their job. My son was having accidents everyday in kindergarten although he'd never had one before because the teacher would not realize he was raising his hand and overlooked him constantly. The principal is ignorant and has no social skills. When the same teacher lost my son on a field trip (because she overlooked him again) I went into the school to speak to the principal about it. She did not ask my opinion or even let me speak, instead she made a list of the things she thought the TEACHER did right!! She had nothing to say about the teacher overlooking my child and worse she was not even a kindergarten teacher, she was switched that year and normally taught first grade! It made the whole year a terrible experience for my son. I HATE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

If you want a great school, great teachers, a good staff and great principal Charles W. Leng has all that. Congratulations Mrs, Castley, you are an excellent principal. So, your school is the better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

The teachers are committed to providing the students with a nurturing, enriching atmosphere for learning, expressing, and creating. Students are encouraged to think, as well as to produce.Literacy is valued as fundamental to all learning and personal fullfillment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Because I could see a clear progress through my child. This is the right place and right people to reach goal more than our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The teachers are great .Kids are very well disciplined.School is safe and clean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Love the teachers and the kids.Very clean quiet,beautiful for our kids to learn.Great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 35% 9%
White 1 34% 48%
Hispanic 2 24% 23%
Black 1 7% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 111%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 258%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 82%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 418 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents37559%
Teachers4377%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KAREN CATANZAROLAROSA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1060 Willowbrook Rd
Staten Island, NY 10314
Phone: (718) 698-0600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Rita School
Staten Island, NY


St. Johns Lutheran School
Staten Island, NY



Jewish Foundation School
Staten Island, NY


Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 30 Westerleigh
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT