Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 60 Alice Austen
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 28, 2015
- a community member
There are 2 teachers and a Para that I need to give thanks to. Laura Scibillia, Nicole Battino and Dawn Forte. They have had a huge impact in my son's life helping not only with academics but also with his self esteem. There aren't enough words or thank you's for me to show my appreciation!

Ps 60 Alice Austen 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
I moved my daughter from another school to PS60. We were worry at the beginning not knowing what to expect. But we were very happy right away with the switch. My daughter loves all of her teachers. The school administration is great. It is very organized and is always planning activities for the kids as well as workshops for parents to get them more involved.


Ps 60 Alice Austen 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
After transferring my son out of his last horrible school I had my doubts about 60. From the main office to the security guard to the staff who gets the children off the bus in the morning , everyone is friendly and extremely helpful. I'm so happy and so is my son .

Ps 60 Alice Austen 5

Posted March 15, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is graduating this year , we have nothing but good things to say about this school, from the teachers, staff, students,parents and the awesome PTA, , it's been nothing but great memories. my daughter has gotten a wonderful education, we will miss PS 60, but we have both made friends that we will stay friends with in middle school, my daughter is well equipped for the next phase of her journey, thanks to everyone at PS 60

Ps 60 Alice Austen 3

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a first grade student at PS 60. I must say that I'm not happy with her teacher, who is mean and very strict. She uses outdated methods for discipline and yells at the kids for any reason. They have no class trips and don't go outside for recess. There are also no class parties of any kind. Moreover, I feel that sometimes the kids are being pushed too hard in order to conform to the crazy standards. My other complaint is that one of the assistant principals, Mrs R. is not helpful when approached with a question or a problem, and she is plainly rude. I like the principal, but the truth is she can't make up for all the bad teachers (there is quite few a heard) in this school. I'm giving this school 3 stars only because my daughter learned to read and write quite well, but on the other hand, I had to help her a lot with home works and preparation for all the tests they are administering so it's partially my accomplishment.


Ps 60 Alice Austen 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
Extremely hardworking teachers,staff and principal .All my kids r doing extremely well both in studies and in extra curricular activities.

Ps 60 Alice Austen
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful school!!! great teachers, caring staff, a+ asst. Principals, and a principal that doesnt stop!! the pta is the ultimate!!! *congrat's to all of the 5th graders*

Ps 60 Alice Austen
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
My son loves PS 60 - the teachers, the school and he is doing great in school!


Ps 60 Alice Austen
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Our school is so great! Teachers are there to teach - kids are there to learn - PS60 is always trying to make improvements to our school for our children! Not to mention all the nice fun things that make the kids want to go to school...WE ROCK! :)

Ps 60 Alice Austen 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
i think it is a very good school. that puts the students first

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 60 Alice Austen
55 Merrill Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10314
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (718) 761-3325
Last modified Ps 60 Alice Austen is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top