Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tottenville High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

I am a senior at Tottenville and I can honestly say this school is what you make of it, Granted in such a large school there is a certain amount of self control and discipline necessary to succeed but, if you are accountable for your actions and get involved this school is amazing. I can honestly say this has been the best 4 years of my life and I owe that to the amazing people at Tottenville. Obviously there are some issues but if you apply yourself there is no reason you can't succeed. This is probably not the school for you if you are unable/ unwilling to be involved and responsible those who are involved are the ones failing and roaming the hallways instead of going to class. This school has an amazing sense of pride in all of their and I feel bad for anyone who deprives them self of this experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2014

AS a parent I advise everyone to keep their kids out of this school. This is a heavy duty drug school, my kids have 9 dead friends. They do drugs right in the classrooms and nothing is done. Teachers know, the Principal knows but nothing is done. Safety agents salute the kids as they cut out of the building. Weed is smoked out in the open, no one cares and that is the least of it. My calls were never answered and when I went up to school no one wanted to deal with me. With almost 4000 kids and parents that get up in your face because they are connected or on the job this will never get better. I don't know how it could get any worse. The football team uses, they expect them in SIUH ED. Teachers will never call you they are treated so badly all day they don't care. Many of them use themselves. Or shoot their husbands in the head (google it),
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

One of a kind school i went there from freshmen year to half my junior year and moved to florida. I played football there it was a wonderful academic and athletic experience i move to florida and now the education blows i enjoied every day at tottenville they pushed kids to the limit challenged kids every day nofights no confilicts no drama just a great school the people that say it suck are the ones who arent involved to be a shmendel do something and play football or something itsa great team and makes it go by a lot faster
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2011

I attended Tottenville and found it to be a subpar high school. Once I was enrolled in a top-50 university, I realized how ill-prepared I was for college. I was a member of Tottenville's Institute, which is the special program for academically gifted students, and other than Latin and some advanced math concepts, I learned very little. Worse, I learned it all from teachers who seemed less than qualified to be in their positions. It scares me to think how much less those outside of the Institute are learning. To be fair, I did enjoy Tottenville's extracurricular offerings, like SING and spring musical. The performing arts program at the school is above average, which was the main reason I attended. The sports programs also seem to be above average. The surrounding neighborhood is very safe, so there's another plus. But I didn't feel safe at the school (a glass bottle was hurled at me by another student from atop a one-story section of the building--why he was allowed to get on the roof, I'll never know--and there were fights in the hallways on a regular basis). The school is disappointment to students on all ends of the academic spectrum, so please send your children elsewhere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2010

I dislike the school. Granted my child was not a model student; however, the school could have intervened. When I on my own- found my child cutting, the schools verbatim response was 'there are 63 doors we cant watch everyone.' The school is too large for the staff to handle. The security guards are too friendly with the kids because they are powerless. It is too easy to cut class, abuse teachers and get lost at Tottenville HS. My messages to the school were never returned, and I went directly to the school several times in person to try to get help. The worst things about the school is they push programs such as GED right away because they want to keep their numbers up...that is all they care about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

THS is one of best schools around. The people and/or students who gave it a poor review are merely sour grapes. If you are a student who is mature enough to go to class, behave and take advantage of the many programs this school offers you will shine. Yes it is easy to cut out and get "lost" but that is the FAULT OF THE STUDENT and the UNINVOLVED PARENT. The resources are there should you choose to utilize them. Don't be a slacker! If your parents aren't available to help you there are many fine guidance counselors, assistant principals and teachers who will gladly assist you! This is one of the most important times of your life which can also be quite enjoyable. Be a PIRATE PROUDLY and forever!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I have moxed feelings about the staff at tottenville high school. i alkso feel alot of children are sent out to ged programs and not suported in any way from there guidance counselors.i feel the school is more concerned about there rating then the student body and there needs.i feel the school. is over whelmingly to much for any one staff to handle.as a parent and having three children attend tottanville.i feel all students needs should be met and never turned away
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

The school isn't as much of a joke as everyone is making it out to be. It still has the lowest rate of drop out of non-specialized schools on the island. It is tempting and INCREDIBALY easy, and tempting to cut class, harass teachers, vandalize property, ect. and more than likely get away with it. However all that being said the school can offer some great well funded extracuricular programs and a decent environment for education. I myself barely graduated by the skin of my teeth due to the aformentioned temptations, but the school isn't really to blame. If there are any parents actually reading this in concideration on weather or not to send your teens to this school then you honestly should. But know that you do this at your own risk, watch for the warning signs, (they're given it out 3 times a semister) lol
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

I believe this school to be one of the top schools on the island. Every student has every oppertunity to succeed. There is tutoring every day for every subject, and the teaches will care about you if you show you care about work. On the other hand if you are a typical staten island teen you will get what you put in to it. It is extreamly easy to cut, but were ages 15 to 18 now i your kids can show a little responsibilty and stay for the 45 minute class. Tottenville is is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2009

This school has its ups and downs. i am a freshmen now its good and bad. Some teachers dont teach well or cannot control the class. there are so many cameras but you can easily just walk out of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2009

As a student in the Humanities Institute, I have to say that I have not regretted attending Tottenville. The school takes pride in the Institute, though we do have a rigid schedule and not as many class opportunities as honors kids. However, high school is what you make of it. Don't make excuses for your children by claiming that th eteachers are lazy and the guidance counselers are always busy. With a school of four thousand students, it's handling itself pretty well. Your children have to go out of their way to go talk to teachers and guidance counselers. If the teachers and counselers don't know that something is wrong, they won't be able to seek out the kids. With so many students, it's impossible to be able to have one on one time with each and every one of them. Make use of the resources given to you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

okay seriously its funny what these parents are saying. i attend tottenville and im in ap classes. not gunna like but the school lets you do what ever u want. its very easy to cut class and screw up. i wouldnt send ur kids here if i was you. i usto be in honors untilll i went to this school. trust me you will regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

So far so good - the institute program is great. plenty of AP classes and special attention is given to both classic and science institute students. great sports. including color guard. beware of the time and money in some of the sports programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

This school is as good as any. School is what you make of it. If your kids are slackers all you will hear is excuses about how the school did it to them. Get your kids in shape and they'll put their best foot forward. I'm in the science Institute class of '08. I have foudn nothign but the best at Tottenville and very proud to have attended.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

The support is there if you need it. Shine and you will be supported; act like a typical Staten Island high school student and your years at Tottenville will not be your best. Tutoring is available for every subject and teachers care as long as you do. Of course, this all hinges on your child actually attending class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

This school pays little attention to the child, no one is ready to speak to you. Security Guards are nasty and wont let you see the teachers. The Schools 'Counselor's' have little qualifications to be helping students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

This school is certainly weak in academics and structure. The schools administration is not up to par to managing a school of this size. Teachers not available to help students or provide support or leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

Not a great school. Very disappointed. You can not see the guide counselor, they do not pick up their phones, you have to live a message and they live you a message. There is no communication. Bureaucracy. Oversize classes! I will give a credit to the marching band and the Social Studies Teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

The school is great...my son didn't make SI Tech and 'settled'for Tottenville. 4 years later he was accepted to the Ivy League and I don't believe that would have happened at SI Tech. The school allows you to be as successful as you can be....motivation and determination are everything at Tottenville and there is something for everyone! Teachers really care - Mr Warren, Ms. Morelli, Ms K as Ms Tuzio - they and others like them really make the difference!! Keep up the great work, Tottenville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

This school is great... if you're in the institute. If you're like me and was not in the institute (honors and regular level classes) no one seemed to care. Taking Ap courses were not offered unless you were an institute student, I had to ask to be in one and when I was in it I was the only non Institute kid. I did not feel fully prepared for college which is a disappointment. I also had friends from Jr. high school with potential who l watched slip though the cracks at Tottenville. It's also disappointing that a large [part] of the school goes to CSI after Tot. When I saw the book of 2004 grads and the colleges they attended I cried in the college office, to me that shows the lack of motivation students have after attending Tottenville.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

745 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

584 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

568 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
31%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

1144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

966 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

1254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

1108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

213 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

1122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
68%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

374 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

1005 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students54%
Female56%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities24%
General population56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant54%

Chemistry

All Students64%
Female64%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant64%

Earth Science

All Students31%
Female32%
Male30%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islander44%
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities12%
General population37%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%

English

All Students86%
Female92%
Male80%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities49%
General population91%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Geometry

All Students68%
Female75%
Male61%
African American36%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities26%
General population72%
English language learners27%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%

Global History and Geography

All Students68%
Female71%
Male65%
African American52%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities34%
General population75%
English language learners31%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%

Integrated Algebra

All Students77%
Female77%
Male78%
African American53%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial82%
Native American90%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities47%
General population85%
English language learners59%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%

Living Environment

All Students73%
Female71%
Male75%
African American51%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities40%
General population83%
English language learners34%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%

Physics

All Students62%
Female59%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant62%

U.S. History and Government

All Students83%
Female88%
Male79%
African American69%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities57%
General population89%
English language learners41%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 48%
Hispanic 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
Black 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 225%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 4185 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents84627%
Students316285%
Teachers17792%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN P. TUMINARO

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Transportation options
  • Busses - S55, S56, S59, S78. Subways - SIR Huguenot
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Luten Ave
Staten Island, NY 10312
Phone: (718) 356-2220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Yeshiva Of Staten Island
Staten Island, NY



Francis School
Staten Island, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT