Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | PK-8 | 48 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $333,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2010

In the 10 years that I have been a Blessed Sacrament, Staten Island, Parishioner, we have been part of a caring parish where children come first. From our pastor to the custodians, everyone embodies a spirit of community that you can only find in a Catholic school. Many positive changes have occurred over the years from extracurricular activities to technology. I have never seen a school where all the school along with the parish organizations work together so well. The teachers genuinely have the students' best interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Teachers are great and keep kids motivated.Safe environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

teachers genuinely interested in their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

It has the best support from the church and the families on staten island.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

i have never seen a catholic school like this one. the parents, grandparents and most of all staff cannot do enough to make the experiences these children have, memorable ones.They all go above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The teachers are great. They care for our kids. They take the time to teach and listen to our children. I love how the love of Jesus is shown to them on their terms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The school is wonderful. We have great teachers and parents who care about all of the children. Go BSS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

This is a great school because the teachers really care and it's like a second family to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

The school community at Blessed Sacrament is the BEST. Everyone is so supportive of eachother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

My kids enjoy the school which makes me love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

They are such a caring school and they push our children to be their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Great community of people at this school and my children are doing great here!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I love Blessed Sacrament school there are many dedicated teachers to help our children grow and be the best they can be. My 2 children love going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I love Blessed Sacrament School because they combine tried and true teaching methods, with contemporary techniques and technology. The students enter High School armed with outstanding work habits and skills. Our students often go on to college, become professionals of varying degree and make an overall positive impression on those whose path they cross. The school imparts an outstanding academic and spiritual foundation for its graduates.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2010

I am very pleased with the education that my 2 children are receiving at BSS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

As an alumni of this school, I am proud that my daughter is now a student at Blessed Sacrament in Staten Island, NY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My 3 children are the 4th generation of my family to attend Blessed Sacrament and I wouldn't have it any other way. It's like an extension of my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

As a graduate of Blessed Sacrament, I am glad my children also get to share and learn the same values that were taught to me attending Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

My daughter attends the Nursery program at the Blessed Sacrament school. I feel that the principal is not nurturing nor engaged. She appears to be more concerned and focused with the fundraising obligations than other things that should be deemed important. She is often curt and could be viewed as sarcastic. Furthermore, it is highly frustrating that the schools academic scores are not posted for the private school because I'm wondering if the scores are reflective of the schools dry and disengaged attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Great school, parent involvement is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 52%
Black 6% 21%
Hispanic 4% 21%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Linda Magnusson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Delafield Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10310
Phone: (718) 442-3090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 19 The Curtis School
Staten Island, NY



Is 27 Anning S Prall
Staten Island, NY



Ps 20 Port Richmond
Staten Island, NY


Ps 18 John G Whittier
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT