Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | PK-8 | 48 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $333,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2014

The asst principle lacks concern about bulling. The principal is week, if your child isn't into sports they won't be welcomed by faculty or staff. The teacher made my son lie and write a paper on how he made friends, after he said he didn't .


Posted July 30, 2012

this school is horrible. i took all of my children out of that school because they dont care about the children that go here. they only care if you donate money, only then will they be kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

Probably the" WORST" parochial grammar school on Staten Island ! Grammar school is the foundation that leads to higher goals and achievement! This school has a weak leader in its PRINCIPAL and ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL who have just given away the school to its "MOTHERS GUILD" new term for the ages. When people no longer see the value in a parochial school education they will and have gone elsewhere!! Growing up the PRIEST, PRINCIPAL and FACUTLY ran the school parent interaction was present but with boundries and the line wasn't crossed!! The schools did good, teachers taught in the classroom and outside as a guiding force in the lives of their students! This has been replaced here with parents many of whom have no educational background, business background and basically run the school! NO PTA OR FORUM TO DISCUSS ISSUES OR FINANCES! The school is in debt, and nickel and dime fund raising has taken away from education! a four day school week not in line with what is mandated by the CHURCH is in place as is its ridiculous FEES that dont even add up PAPER FEE, PLAYGROUND FEE,BOOK FEE! There are excellent choices this is not one of them TO MANY QUESTIONS NEED TO BE ANSWERED AND WILL NOT BE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

I have been a parent for 16 yrs. My youngest of three is graduating this year. The parents and the school are great. Everyone is always there to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

It's a great school and the children receive a wonderful education and training for their future.


Posted July 9, 2010

I find it extremely odd that so many "rave" reviews were written on the same days and day after day during the month of May 2010, leads one to believe that the same person or persons may be writing those reviews. In my opinion, BSS is lacking in many, many areas. The parent involvement is high, but mainly for fundraising purposes. Little is done for the children or to improve the education which is in desperate need of improvement. The principal is spineless and makes her living appeasing people. There are a number of teachers with terrible reputations and nothing is done to improve that. The parents are very cliquish which ultimately effects the children's ability to make friends. The parents on power trips ultimately run the school. Would not recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a nurturing environment or a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I like this school because it really works wiht the kids, they learn a lot and they are on top of their assigments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

My son walks in smiling and leaves smiling every single day!! Of course I feel he is also gatting a wonderful education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

So happy that my husband and I chose BSS for our childrens education. We are very happy there. Go Titans!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

all my children went to Blessed Sacrament and I always found everyone there to be friendly and helpful. My children had a wonderful education and made many friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

love the school because its small and the people are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

We are so happy we chose BSS. It is such a sense of community and we love that everyone looks out for and supports each other
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Blessed Sacrament School provides an awesome atmosphere for an excellent Catholic values based acadamic education in a warm and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

Its a warm and loving atmosphere where my kids have the opportunity to learn and thrive in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

I feel that my children a recieving a better education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Having put four sons through BSS and now having 3 grandchildren in the school I am well aware of the great things BSS has to offer.


Posted May 6, 2010

School has great teachers and staff who care about the students education and there future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Blessed Sacrament School has the most caring teachers and students. It is more like a family. The parents show concern not only for their children but others as well. We would not consider another school, BSS is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I love the spirit of the school as it embodies an environment of high academic achievement and a close knit community in one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

After 11 years living on Staten Island and attended Blessed Sacrament, I see all the caring parishioners in this community. I have never seen a school where all the school along with the parish organizations work together so well. The Teachers are great and keep kids motivated and in a safe environment.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 52%
Black 6% 21%
Hispanic 4% 21%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Linda Magnusson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Delafield Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10310
Phone: (718) 442-3090

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 19 The Curtis School
Staten Island, NY



Is 27 Anning S Prall
Staten Island, NY



Ps 20 Port Richmond
Staten Island, NY


Ps 18 John G Whittier
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT