Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
193 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. John Villa Academy-Elementary 5

Posted January 01, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school, very happy parent here!!!!very happy kid too!!!! My DD's teacher Ms Henderson is young and funny and my DD loves to go to school, very professional, she is learning a lot, yes test results are important but the fact that my kid is learning and loving it is what most matter to me.

St. John Villa Academy-Elementary 3

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
School is ok. However, after studing one year, our state tests results dropped. Not enough challenging HW on Math, ELA.


St. John Villa Academy-Elementary 5

Posted October 08, 2010
- a parent
We love the school. My children find this a home away from home where the children are cared about and receive the best education that they could possibly give them.

St. John Villa Academy-Elementary 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
the staff has exceeded my expectations!!

St. John Villa Academy-Elementary
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
A consideration of the 'whole child' attention is given in every area of life to insure that children excel academically, personally, spiritually.


St. John Villa Academy-Elementary
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a parent
nice & small; great teachers; friendly & warm atmosphere. family-like atmosphere.

St. John Villa Academy-Elementary 5

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
I have been a parent in SJVA for the last 8 years. SJVA is a wonderful school with so much to offer. It is small so that each child gets the attention he or shes deserves. Academically I think its great for both the lower and upper grades. It is departmental from 5th grade up and it has advanced math for 7th and 8th grade (8th grade math is taught in the High School). Compare our scholarship results to other schools and you will see that SJVA is tops! If you are looking for extra ciricular activities, SJVA has something for every child including sports (basketball, track, cross country, swimming), drama, newspaper, student council, and band to name a few.

St. John Villa Academy-Elementary
no rating

Posted June 13, 2009
- a community member
SVJA is an welcoming and caring school. The educated staff puts the interest of the student first. I wish I sent my child there sooner.


St. John Villa Academy-Elementary
no rating

Posted August 17, 2008
- a parent
It's a great school, my son is enjoying it over there. However, most parents are very snob... some of them barely acknowledge your presence unless you are in their 'income range'.

St. John Villa Academy-Elementary 4

Posted April 06, 2008
- a parent
This school is the best secret on Staten Island. My daughter is in 4th grade. This year is difficult with all the standardize testing that these children have to go through. Sometimes she has difficulty and the school offers peer tutoring on Friday afterschool. I love Villa.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John Villa Academy-Elementary
57 Cleveland Pl, Staten Island, NY  10305
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (718) 447-2668
Last modified St. John Villa Academy-Elementary is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top