Advertisement
Advertisement

Academy of St. Dorothy

Private | PK-8 | 266 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $370,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,360.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

Our daughter was enrolled in this school in the fall 2013 and we had to pull her out just two weeks after the school year started because we experienced discrimination. I'm not sure if it was because we were one of the few Hispanic families in the school or because we may have not been in the same tax bracket as the others. The principle did not even attempt to have a sit down with us to discuss the events that transpired throughout the two weeks our daughter attended. We were extremely disappointed that in this day in age there are still those whom feel they are above others just because they may have a different background or are in a different tax bracket.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Academy of St. Dorothy is a top notch school that provides a community to both students and parents. I have been a parent in this school for 10 years and I must say that the children are REALLY prepared for High School. It's amazing the reaction you get from educators from other schools when they hear that the student is a graduate of Academy of Sty. Dorothy. They immeditely know that the student is well rounded and very skilled. If you are looking for a GREAT education as well as a safe healthy spiritual environment for your children, look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

My suggestion to all parents is all though these school reviews are helpful, you should schedule an appointment and view the school for yourself. My personal experience with ASD is if you are interested in your child receiving a superior well-rounded education, enhancing their spiritual growth, nurturing the competitive side through a plethora of sporting activities and having an extended family consisting of 392 fellow students and their families, then this school is for you. The principle is a very dedicated educator and her facility; follow by her example. Your child s mind will be challenged to perform at its full potential. Sometimes that will need the assistance of the parents with their homework and studies. Therefore, if your educational philosophy is that learning should only take place in the actual educational institution, this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

the school is great, my child loves the school we see his progress every day his teacher mr's hepwoth is the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

To the parent that said put your kids in Hill. I say maybe you should read their reviews first! It is funny that anyone who has ASD ends up in Public schools which leads me to believe that Catholic school was not the right place for their children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

ASD provides a safe, secure, friendly school environment. The Principal is actively involved in the school and knows each child and family. It can be a good choice for some, especially in the early grades. However, the teachers, with the exception of a few, are very average. They give too much homework, and too little help to struggling students. If your child is doing poorly, it is because they 'do not try hard enough'. They never look to their methods of teaching. They don't acknowledge learning differences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Both of my children graduated from ASD and they both received a wonderful education. They did terrific in high school, both in scholars programs. I found the work challenging, the teachers, for the most part, were very good, and the principal very hands on. I think it is a great bargain, tuition wise, compared to other private schools. I would not hesitate to recommend this school to anyone who wants a family atmosphere as there are many extra treats for the children such as Halloween fairs, christmas fairs, special person day, etc, that brings school spirit. I feel you really get a bang for your buck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

I think that the Academy of St. Dorothy has some of the best educators on Staten Island. My child has been to public school prior to St. Dorothy and there is no comparison. The teachers care for the students and surpass their job roles to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I think ASD is a wonderful school my daughter is in her first year there. And she absolutley loves it. My daughter is learning so much , and she is only in pre-k.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

If you have young children and want a good education, stay away from this school. The teachers are getting to old to teach the kids and there are quite a few unhappy families. They are surviving on there name from years ago. It goes from to many tests in one class to no tests in other classes. Teachers that talk about Quija boards and ghosts to teachers that eat all day in class. It makes no sense. Go to Hill and you will get you dollars worth.


Posted June 14, 2007

ASD is a fantastic school for those who want their children to learn well and who want their children to be challenged academically. It is also great for those who want their children to grow in the Catholic faith. There are plenty of extracurricular activities with more being added every year such as an Art program, many sports, and a Drama program. Being a former student at ASD I found nothing at all difficult about the homework or teachers or the lessons being taught in the classroom. The lessons were well prepared and very well conveyed. I had no trouble at all. The curriculum was well covered and very well devised. Overall, it is a fantastic school (one of the best) with a great parent involvement and great academics and extracurricular activities. Definitely one of the best elementary schools for young children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2007

I do not know of any class with only 26 kids. Less than enchanted with math scores, teachers and lack of instruction. As a matter of fact a high percentage of students have or need a math tutor. Homework load is abnormal and makes you wonder how much of the cirriculum is not being covered in class. As for supervision, there is none on the property during AM or PM drop off and dismissal. It does however offer a safer learning enviormnent than the area public schools and has an awesome lunch menu.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2006

I would recommend this school to parents who are interested in a well-rounded education for their child. It can be challenging academically but it tries to take into account individual needs. There is a sports program for students in Kindergarten through Gr. 8 which is coached by parent volunteers. Drama is offered as an activity in Grades 5-8. Parental involvement is strongly encouraged and welcomed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 30, 2005

Good School. Not enough extra curricular activities, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

ASD is a wonderful school and I miss it so much. I wish I could go back in time and relive grammer school once again.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 52%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 3% 21%
Black 1% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sharon A. Mccarthy
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1305 Hylan Blvd
Staten Island, NY 10305
Phone: (718) 351-0939

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. 46 Albert V Maniscalco
Staten Island, NY


P.S. 48 William C Wilcox
Staten Island, NY


Holy Rosary School
Staten Island, NY


St. Joseph Hill Academy
Staten Island, NY



St. Ann School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT