Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Lady Help of Christians School 2

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
OLHC WAS a good school in the past , unfortunately the leadership is horrible. Rude and unprofessional office staff is what you are greeted with, followed by a principle who let's it all slide. Perhaps a complete overhaul is necessary to bring people back in to replace the mass exodus that took place.

Our Lady Help of Christians School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
Our Lady Help of Christians is a great school. My daughter and I are graduates and both of us continued to excel in high school and college with the Catholic foundation we received OLHC. My son is a current student who has struggled scholastically, and I am convinced that things would not have turned out as well for him at another school. With the help of the best teachers, the guidance and hands-on attention from an excellent Principal, he has done well. The staff and leadership of OLHC is top shelf. Their small classes create a very special and caring camaraderie among the children and the school fosters the spirit of our religion and moral excellence. Simply put, OLHC provides the best well rounded education your child could receive. We are extremely proud and very blessed to be a part of this great school.


Our Lady Help of Christians School 3

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Many teachers are excellent and truly care about the children. However, the school is severely lacking in leadership. The principal has a "we can't do that" attitude and allows his office staff to run the school. Many issues are not dealt with and it seems the principal feels it is easier to talk about anything else but deal with the real issues. Even small problems can't be handled such as opening a gate or asking double parked cars to move. Forget dealing with any big issue. Several inneffective teachers and no actions taken. Could be a great school but needs to be changed from the top.

Our Lady Help of Christians School 3

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
Is a nice small school with good teachers. Has the potential to be a great school if it had proper leadership.The current principal is very ineffectual and does not want to hear about making any changes. Instead of trying to do what is in best interest of students,his response is "Well we can't do that". A good and effective leader will ask for parents support and figure out how to implement changes.

Our Lady Help of Christians School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers, small classes


Our Lady Help of Christians School 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2010
- a parent
its a second home us, it has a warm family like atmosphere. it grows academically each year. students and staff are kind and compassionate.

Our Lady Help of Christians School 5

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
OLHC is one huge family. The spirit of and in the school is uplifting. The education provided, the faculty/staff interacting with our children, the nurturing environment, the extra-curricular activities, as well as the love and faith with which our children are filled, each, in their own way, make us proud to say that we are part of the OLHC family!!!

Our Lady Help of Christians School 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
Excellent care and education for their students.


Our Lady Help of Christians School 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2010
- a community member
Excellent education, students are well prepared to go on to top high schools.

Our Lady Help of Christians School 0
no rating

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
I love OLHC because you feel as if you are part of one big family. It is a small school and everyone knows everyone and I find that to be very welcoming. The faculty happens to be very caring and nurturing to the students and I am certainly very happy with OLHC!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Help of Christians School
23 Summit Street, Staten Island, NY  10307
(718) 984-1860
Last modified Our Lady Help of Christians School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Our Lady Help of Christians School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top