Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Adalbert School

Private | PK-8 | 302 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $243,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2013

I've been going to this school since pre-k, and I love it here. The teachers and staff are really nice. Now I'm going into 7th grade, and my 6th grade teacher did a great job on preparing my class for the state tests. Everyone here is like family.


Posted December 3, 2012

My daughter goes to this school, teachers and staff are very friendly, the principal and assistant principal are very nice, I love how they wait for the students outside in front of the school and even help get them out the car..HOWEVER there are TOO MANY FEES! every week there are multiple fees, for anything and everything they can think of! I can hardly keep up! Almost Everything is mandatory...they really need to slow down on those "fee for this" and "fee for that" it really adds up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

My sons' attended this school a couple of years ago and I must say the school was a very bad experience. Teachers teach their own children and show favoritism when it comes to giving rewards for academics. The priest affiliated with the school shows no support in anything. Would not recommend this school to anyone!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

THE SCHOOL IS NICE WE ARE VERY PATRIOTIC.I WISH THE FOD WAADS BETER AND IF IWE HASD MUSIC MANY CHILREN ARE NICE AND REPECTFUL A LOT OF THE TIME WE HAVE A SCHOOL ASSEMBLY THEY ARE KIND OF BORING ONLY 2 WERE BORNING I AM A 5TH GRADE STUDENT AND FOR ST.ADALBERT THIS SCHOOL HAS EVERY THING BUT LACROSE,TRACK,AND MUSIC .I WANT TO SAY MORE BUT IHAVE TO GO TO ST. ADALBERT SUMMER CAMP OVER ALL I LOVE LOVE LOVE THAT SCHOOL AND THEY ARE LIKE MY FAMILY.


Posted November 10, 2009

Great school. The children are misbehaved and some show no respect. The teachers are wonderful and the principal is fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

I had my kids enrolled in this school. Both were taken out I was not satisfy with the handling of discipline issues. They seem more preoccupied with collecting their monthly fee and dont encourage the children to express their indiviuality freely of course within reasonable means. Thought this would be better than a public school I was disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

Excellent school, well organized, they offer evrerything a child needs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

I am the parent of a 3rd grade student at St. Adalbert's and I am very pleased with the school and the staff there. My son began schooling here in Pre-K and is progressing very well. I think his teacher this year Ms. Patricia Maiara must be commended for her teaching skills and the attention she gives to her students. My son comes home happy every day and shows great progress in his reading, language arts and math skills. Hoping for 5 more years here and more teachers like Ms. Maiara.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

The pricipal is great and a few of the staff. The school is safe, which I am grateful for. The HUGE downfall is the amount of money they ask for, and I'm not talking tuition. The monthly tuition is reasonable, but every time I turn around they are asking for more money. Money for a basket, a play, after school, LUNCH and Breakfast (which isn't a combo deal) is ridiculous, Yard duty, Dress down, Parties.. anything you can think of OR they can think of is going to cost you! It's insane. I don't know how I survived 2 years. In these times, what $3 here $30 there, it's too much!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

St. Adlaberts schol is Great!. I love this school. I attened here since 7th grade. Now in 8th Grade.. My teachers are great.. we always laugh and make jokes with the teachrs.. we share the greatest bond ever.. and that lets me know that i can come to any teacher for anything or any problem i have and i know they will take care of me. All the students get along here.. there are NO clicks.. if you want to hang with the cheerleaders.. do so.. they won't exclude you.. they will alwys welcome you.. like the basket ball players... and the 'rockers' . :).. i think i have made life long firends in this school. The priciple is funny and loving and careful.. Shes the best on Staten Isand.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

I love this school. My son and daughter both attend and I always feel that they are safe when in school. The principal is wonderful and really cares about the students and school. Even though it is a small school, my children learn a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

Five Star school. Great prinipal,great teachers. They have smart boards in the classrooms. I cannot say enough about how caring and friendly everyone is. I wish they had a high school, because my child would stay on for four years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

I think St.Adalbert school is a great school. There aren't cliques where students are excluded. Sixth, seventh and eighth grade students switch classes to get a bit of what high school is like.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2008

This school as educated my three childen who went on to get scholorships to high school and the little one is still there flourishing. You are doing yourself a huge justice by sending your child to this little tiny school in the heart of Elm Park
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

I go to St.Adalbert school and i personal think it is not such a good school.We have music and art as a extracurricular act.We also have spanish but we have it once a week and the 7th grade is on the same level at the 5th grade in spanish.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 52%
Hispanic 25% 21%
Black 24% 21%
Asian 7% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Diane L. Hesterhagen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

355 Morningstar Road
Staten Island, NY 10303
Phone: (718) 442-2020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 22 Graniteville
Staten Island, NY


Ps 44 Thomas C Brown
Staten Island, NY


Is 51 Edwin Markham
Staten Island, NY



Ps 20 Port Richmond
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT