Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Star of the Sea

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $415,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2010

My nieces and nephews attend school and activities there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

it's a family community with wonderful academic success!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

this school is great! we love it here!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

I love Our Lady Star of the Sea School, because if the wonderful and caring teachers who dedicate and devote their hearts and souls into our children. I also love the school because of the parents and the children that attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

because of the feeling of family and encouragement this school is my favorite


Posted October 19, 2010

cutting edge curriculum, caring and nurturing environment, catholic community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

It is a great school for both academics and morals. I went there and now my children attend. It is a very down to earth school where they treat each student like their own family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

my kids are getting a wonderful education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

It has the best faculty and students anywhere
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 25, 2010

OLSS was one of my favorite schools of the 5 schools I attended throughout my elementary, junior, and high schools. I am now an honors student at my high school preparing to apply to many prestigious colleges include Georgetown, Princeton, Brown, and Columbia. My brother is even trying for Harvard and Yale! I believe that the few years that I attended OLSS really set the base of my education. This is where I was taught that our Catholic faith is extremely important, our education really does matter, and the balance of faith and setting high standards for yourself. As a young child, you don't realize it as well, but as I got older, I was so grateful to have had the opportunity to attended this FANTASTIC school.


Posted March 24, 2009

OLSS, compared to other private schools, are lacking in language, certain sports, hot lunch, website communication and much needed space. Rather than build a bigger CHURCH, OLSS should have expanded the size of the school so the kids wouldn't feel crushed like sardines in their classes. The catholic school my daughter now attends is far more advanced with their technology and teaching skills, offering at least 2 languages. They also offer sports which extend beyond soccer and basketball.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

school is good but needs a new pastor everyone else is nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

My grandson transferred from a public school to OLSS. This is no comparison> What a wonderful change. My grandson loves his new school


Posted October 7, 2008

I am a parent at this school for over 8 years and I think this is the best school for my child. She really loves the school and only has less than 2 years left here. Every year each teacher is dedicated to teaching my child and every child. The administration is excellent also. The parents association has no choice but to raise money for our school since they need all the help they can get. This is a real family unit. I will miss it dearly and so will my daughter. Thank you OLSS. You're the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

I've been in the school for three years, the teachers are very hard on the kids, they do expect alot from them, so if you don't have the time to help your child with homework it will not work. The principal is nice and so in the assistant principal, the Monsignor however is not all that, the kids are only dollar signs. He does not look in the best interest of the children and it is really turning me to the point of leaving the school, my child does not want to loose her friends. We do not have language and no hot lunch. Also if the parents don't volunteer for lunch duty, kids have lunch in classroom, makes me sick. Had I known all this before, would not be here now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

I have my three children in Our Lady Star of the Sea, and I could not be happier. I love the dedication of the teachers and the Principal. I feel my children are getting the best education I can pay for. I would very much reccommend this school to anyone. The only negative is that the Parents Association raises alot of money for the school and we hardly ever see any changes to the school for the kids as well as the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

OLSS is a great school =-) i couldn't be happier about it =-) Only thing is that teachers can be extremely tough with the kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 2, 2007

Our Lady Star of The Sea School not only met but exceeded my expectations in all areas of education. I have learned that there is a perfect balance between the education process, religous values and parent -teacher relationships. The compassionate staff starts with administration all the way down to maintenance. I would be remiss if I did not take the time to say thank you. My children are learning, thriving and growing both physically and emotionally within this school system. God Bless each and every staff member at OLSS for continuing to make our school the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

This school has very high standards. The children learn at a comfortable pace but they are expected to work hard. There is excellent discipline and with only 2 classes per grade a family type atmosphere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2005

I have a daugther that has been in the school for two years now and I believe they are educating her well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 52%
Asian 1% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Irma P. Cummings
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5411 Amboy Rd
Staten Island, NY 10312
Phone: (718) 984-5750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 5 Huguenot
Staten Island, NY


Is 7 Elias Bernstein
Staten Island, NY


Ps 36 J C Drumgoole
Staten Island, NY


Is 75 Frank D Paulo
Staten Island, NY


Ss Joseph & Thomas School
Staten Island, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT