Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
179 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Johns Lutheran School 3

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
This school offers very small classes which is a plus and a negative. If you have any issues with another child, there is no other class for your child to transfer to.

St. Johns Lutheran School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Speiser greets the kids each morning with a big smile and she knows each student by name. They know they are important to her!


St. Johns Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
The smaller class sizes allow for more individual attention and the teachers can reach all students.

St. Johns Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
Children need homework to REINFORCE what they learn in school. The HW at this school is just that. It is not a child just doing assignments for the sake of doing assignments.

St. Johns Lutheran School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
We have been a part of this wonderful school for many years. Our children have made great progress here. The smaller classes and dedicated teachers have given our kids a love of learning.


St. Johns Lutheran School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Speiser, the principal. She walked into a big role. She had the immediate problem of beloved teachers leaving for new opportunities. She had the big issue of the new Common Core classes happen. She has always handled herself with professionalism and courtesy. She is definately here to help her students. She has her own children here and to me that speaks volumes.... she believes in this school and its educators. In fact a few teachers have had their kids in the school.... it works at St. John's and to me it makes me know they too believe in the mission.

St. Johns Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
This small school has the ability to really communicate. The teachers know most of the students by name even in different grade levels. my kids ELA/Math scores have improved each year. I have heard of kids going to TECH and many Catholic HS after they graduate.

St. Johns Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
From week to week homework may shift. My kids are well prepared to do any assignment at home. All homework connects to school work and is not just busy work. They started giving out HW planners a few years ago and that has helped my kids tremendously.


St. Johns Lutheran School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
I have seen my children struggle with a certain concept or skill. They are consistently encouraged to keep working at it till they master it. My kids know life has struggles and they need to keep trying.

St. Johns Lutheran School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Students are taught to be responsible and accountable. They have a handbook of expectations and are held to them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Johns Lutheran School
663 Manor Rd, Staten Island, NY  10314
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (718) 761-1858
Last modified St. Johns Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top