Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oakdale Academy

Private | PK-1 | 9 students

 
 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $415,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

I absolutely adore Oakdale Academy! I am in love with the staff and so are my kids. We recently moved to Staten Island, and after visiting Oakdale daycare - my older asked to come back..And we have, every morning ;) All of my three kids go here: a 2.5 year old, 1.5 year old and my 4 month old. They get dressed in the morning racing, because they want to go 'play'..Their Mother's Day gifts, made with their hands at the Oakdale Academy are amazing and hanging proudly. Book Fair, Pinocchio visit, flower planting and 'color' day all within a month! Would never trade this place. Oakdale Academy has been in business for 25 years, at the same location - I think that says a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

Both my boys goto Oakdale Academy I'm very pleased with the care and Education they receive. They love going to school they come home happy and it amazes me when my son comes home and he recites the Pledge of Allegiance at the age of 2 1/2. I recommend them to family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

I have 2 kids in this school and from the first time I walked in last year with my son , we felt right away part of the school. There are good teachers and especially the Executive Director Ms Audree Gabrielidis, whom will try to accommodate with all your needs. Also my son when he started school , he was speaking only Italian. And in few month thanks to the teachers he started learning and speaking fluently English. This year my baby girl started at 3 month old and every morning when I drop off I feel ok because her teachers love her!!! And she is sooo happy when she sees them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

My 2 girls were in this school from 8 months old thru pre-k. The staff is kind and watchful. My daughter was so advanced by the time she got to Kindergarten, she surpassed every kid in her class. They NEVER sat in their own urine as others have posted here. I was always called if there wasn't an extra set of clothes there. Always happy kids. Always activities going on. Definitely recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2014

Both of my boys go to this school one is 5 and the other is 2 ! They have been goin there almost 3years. Both my boys love all the teachers there. Never no problems with them! They take very good care of them and teach them very we'll. My oldest comes home telling me something new he learns everyday!! Audree and the staff here are great !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

Great school that offer high quality care the staff is warm and friendly and goes out of their way to meet and greet each child very clean clean and always smells good very nice large play yard great location
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2014

I am so happy at Oakdale Academy, the staff is so caring and my son just runs in the front door every morning, which lets me go off to work knowing he is happy and having fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

I went there for a job interview and spent the day to see how I fit in. I wanted to leave after 5 minutes and cry. The conditions are horrible. The children were miserable and most of them are stuck there from 7am to 7pm.... Lunch was horribly made macaroni and cheese. The materials were old broken and dangerous. The staff members are tired and over worked because as I was told they don't allow you to take off because there is no one to replace you or sub.


Posted May 2, 2011

I am VERY disappointed in this school.....My child and 8 other p/t children were dismissed by the program due to the school's lack to follow the rules/regulations of the Dept of Health. There were too many kids not enough teachers..and my child was constantly sick.. As per the DOH the violations issued were mostly on a critical level... The school is terrible and should refund each p/t parent their registration fee as they voided the contract agreement.. NEVER SEND YOUR CHILD HERE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

i as well do not agree with their practices. At the time my 4 year old daughter sat in her own urine all day (it was dry by the time she got out of school!). Isn't that why you send them a change of clolthes. Pulled her out immediately. i feel they are neglectful. Shame on them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

I do not agree with their practices. I do not believe that it is ethical to have a child sit in a high chair for so long just because he will. The best thing I ever did was remove my son from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

High level of quality education. DOes a great job with multi age grouping. Has wonderful and caring staff. Offers gifted programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Very bad system. All the kids from grade 1 to 5 sit togather in the same room and study with same one teacher. The director was also unable to explain to me that how would kids of higher grades reach their goal sitting with kids of lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

A truly great school. Very caring and nuturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

Excellent school with outstanding curriculum, caring and nurtutring as well-- worth every dollar spent!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Deborah Wallach
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

366 Oakdale St
Staten Island, NY 10312
Phone: (718) 948-4220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 55 Henry M Boehm
Staten Island, NY


St Clare School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon
Staten Island, NY


Eltingville Lutheran School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 42 Eltingville
Staten Island, NY


Ps 36 J C Drumgoole
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT