Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sacred Heart School

Private | PK-8 | 16 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $333,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

This school is a complete rip-off. The only thing you get for approx. $500.00 a month is a sense of security. My child was in this school from prek-3 pre-k 4 full 5 days 6 hours a day & kindergarten through 1st grade and barely knows how to read and write. And forget about the Math. Absolutley no teaching at all have I experienced!! However if you are willing to teach your own child everything and then send them to Sacred Heart to be baby sat then this is the school for you. A horrible disgrace!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2014

The school is a very underrated school in my opinion. They consistently produce the highest ELA scores of any Catholic School on the island. The teachers are tough and much is expected and they do not cater to the parents. This school has gotten a bad rap because too many over possessive stay at home Moms cannot take any criticism of their "angel".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

If you are looking for a Catholic School on the north shore consider Sacred Heart. The children are well behaved and the building is spacious, unlike other Catholic Schools where the kids are packed liked sardines. It's true that the teachers are a bit cold and the principal is remote but these aren't necessarily bad things since they're strict with the kids and have high expectations for behavior. My only complaint is there's too much testing, especially for the younger children this is unnecessary pressure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I have to agree with the previous comment. I took my child out of the school last year and she is currently attending public school. Her teacher told me she is a well behaved child. I was surprised because her teacher at Sacred Heart would give me complaints on a daily basis. Regarding the curriculum I feel they are not being taught what they should be at their grade level. I gave it two stars because of Father Jerome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I'm sorry to say but this school is going down hill. The principal is not very attentive and if there is a problem within the students she does not handle it the way it should, she doesn't even call the parents to let them know what went on in school, she also puts the blame on parents if the student is not doing well meanwhile she does not call a parent to notify them if their child is not doing well, there's no communication. I am not the only parent who have dealt with this there are many and many are leaving because of her, it's a shame. Most of the Teachers are cold and only favorite the "smart ones" and make the rest of the students who are struggling feel left out. It's suppose to be a compassion school, it's far from it. I must say however, the Pastor is an extraordinary guy, I truly wish he was principal if that was the case my children would still be there. As far as the parents if they don't know you they stare at you like an outsider, they judge you. If your not in their click then your not part of them. Save your money and do not send your child to this school, if you want to save them from emotional scares do not send them there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

It's so sad people deserve to know our scores this year esp we went city wide. Yes the arch feels its in bad taste to compare catholic schools so they will not tell u the orbs scores compared to other schools. But this year we went beyond our island wide accomplishments of the past four years and now we are city wide. I know another school has been touting they r number one ranked and they were seven years ago just ask them when was the last time. As for our ranking its great and u need this info to make the rite call. I have to add sacred heart is just a great place to be apart of and that's what happens it becomes ur community. I wanted to go public wife made call and I'm so glad she did. Come talk to the parents we r in the lot after school anyone will help u make the call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

The Pre-K program is excellent. Miss Joanne, Miss Diana and Miss Carole are AMAZING!!! The kids love them and they learn so much. The projects and crafts the kids make are wonderful memories us parents can keep for a lifetime. The only downside is that the principal does not focus on the early childhood center all the money goes into the big school. The early childhood pays double the tutiton that the older grades. That should not refeclt on the Pre-K teachers they are truly the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

The other reviews are correct regarding the lower grades at SHS but grades 3, 4, 5 and 6 have 4 teachers who teach the core subjects and 3 teachers who teach gym, music and art. The principal has one parent meeting at the beginning of the school year and none for the rest of the year. There is no PTA. The music teachers contract was not renewed for next year and he will be replaced with someone who will come in one day a week and run a "glee club". Morale in the staff is extremely low. Tuition bills are being sent out at the end of the school year for the first six months only which would indicate that tuition is going up in January due to falling enrollment and current students leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

The principal, teachers and staff are all very dediated, and truly care about the children. It also feels like one big family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

The family environment is very important to me. It is a wondereful place for children to grow academically, socially and spiritually. Children are challenged academically by nuturing teachers. Must send a special shout-out to the FABULOUS Pre-K teaching staff!! Overall the school is a great place for the kids to develop into intelligent and socially responsible young adults. Also a great sports program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

The teachers are committed to incorporating religion as well as academics into the lessons. It really gives my daughter a sense of values. And the sports program is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Sacred Heart is a family in the truest sense of the word.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

The teachers at Sacred Heart School are committed to providing the best education to their students. The school has a nurturing and caring environment that emphasizes Catholic values and importance of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

My son was well prepared for the challenges of High School. Sacred Heart is truely a family school. Everyone is involved to help the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Sacred Heart is the best school on staten island... Vote to help make it an even better place for the children.. I wouldnt want to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I has a wonderful administration, faculty and staff who are superb educators and care deeply for the welfare of the children. The parents are also dedicated and volunteer to assist the staff and help the children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2010

My child in in the Pre-K the teachers Miss Joanne, Miss Diana and Miss Carole are excellent!!! He has learned so much in this school year and loves going. He will have a great foundation when he goes into kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I would think twice of recommending this school. They are understaffed with qualified teachers and a poor curriculum. They provide a poor foundation for later in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

My only experience has been with the pre-k and k. I can not say enough great things about these teachers. They are caring, patient and kind. The classroom enviornment always seems conducive to both learning and fun. My children have learned well and are always excited to go. The teachers really take alot of time to do special and creative things with the children. I am happy at this young age that they are in a classroom where I am confident that they are so well taught and lovingly looked after. The parents at the school are very involved in making the school a great place for the kids to be ie: sports, holiday fairs, book fairs, parties etc. The parents I have met with older kids seem very happy. I can see that there is a great emphasis on sports, I hope as much is place on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

This is my daughter's first year in SHS. She comes home very excited about the next day of school. She is so motivated beacuse of the teachers. Her teacher is Ms. Ctalano at the present time and she absolutely loves her! She is very kind and loving!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 52%
Black 10% 21%
Hispanic 6% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Evelyn M. Lacagnino
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 North Burgher Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10310
Phone: (718) 442-0347

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 18 John G Whittier
Staten Island, NY


Is 27 Anning S Prall
Staten Island, NY


Ps 45 John Tyler
Staten Island, NY



Ps 19 The Curtis School
Staten Island, NY


Blessed Sacrament School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT