Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Staten Island, NY
Students enrolled: 221

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacred Heart School 3

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
I think when you attend private school your mostly paying for security and thats wherever you go. I dont think her child has a learning disorder. While my child attended Sacred Heart she was not taught to read or write until the 1st grade. pre k3 and pre k4 are not taught to read but from experience once they hit first grade they do catch up. What I dont like about the school is that they give vouchers to low income families. These families pay less than half of the tuition , while others like myself pay the full price.

Sacred Heart School 5

Posted August 07, 2014
- a parent
Any kid in school from that length of time and cannot read and write obviously has a learning disorder!


Sacred Heart School 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is a complete rip-off. The only thing you get for approx. $500.00 a month is a sense of security. My child was in this school from prek-3 pre-k 4 full 5 days 6 hours a day & kindergarten through 1st grade and barely knows how to read and write. And forget about the Math. Absolutley no teaching at all have I experienced!! However if you are willing to teach your own child everything and then send them to Sacred Heart to be baby sat then this is the school for you. A horrible disgrace!!!!

Sacred Heart School 5

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
The school is a very underrated school in my opinion. They consistently produce the highest ELA scores of any Catholic School on the island. The teachers are tough and much is expected and they do not cater to the parents. This school has gotten a bad rap because too many over possessive stay at home Moms cannot take any criticism of their "angel".

Sacred Heart School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for a Catholic School on the north shore consider Sacred Heart. The children are well behaved and the building is spacious, unlike other Catholic Schools where the kids are packed liked sardines. It's true that the teachers are a bit cold and the principal is remote but these aren't necessarily bad things since they're strict with the kids and have high expectations for behavior. My only complaint is there's too much testing, especially for the younger children this is unnecessary pressure.


Sacred Heart School 1

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
I'm sorry to say but this school is going down hill. The principal is not very attentive and if there is a problem within the students she does not handle it the way it should, she doesn't even call the parents to let them know what went on in school, she also puts the blame on parents if the student is not doing well meanwhile she does not call a parent to notify them if their child is not doing well, there's no communication. I am not the only parent who have dealt with this there are many and many are leaving because of her, it's a shame. Most of the Teachers are cold and only favorite the "smart ones" and make the rest of the students who are struggling feel left out. It's suppose to be a compassion school, it's far from it. I must say however, the Pastor is an extraordinary guy, I truly wish he was principal if that was the case my children would still be there. As far as the parents if they don't know you they stare at you like an outsider, they judge you. If your not in their click then your not part of them. Save your money and do not send your child to this school, if you want to save them from emotional scares do not send them there!

Sacred Heart School 5

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
It's so sad people deserve to know our scores this year esp we went city wide. Yes the arch feels its in bad taste to compare catholic schools so they will not tell u the orbs scores compared to other schools. But this year we went beyond our island wide accomplishments of the past four years and now we are city wide. I know another school has been touting they r number one ranked and they were seven years ago just ask them when was the last time. As for our ranking its great and u need this info to make the rite call. I have to add sacred heart is just a great place to be apart of and that's what happens it becomes ur community. I wanted to go public wife made call and I'm so glad she did. Come talk to the parents we r in the lot after school anyone will help u make the call.

Sacred Heart School 5

Posted September 15, 2010
- a parent
The Pre-K program is excellent. Miss Joanne, Miss Diana and Miss Carole are AMAZING!!! The kids love them and they learn so much. The projects and crafts the kids make are wonderful memories us parents can keep for a lifetime. The only downside is that the principal does not focus on the early childhood center all the money goes into the big school. The early childhood pays double the tutiton that the older grades. That should not refeclt on the Pre-K teachers they are truly the best


Sacred Heart School 2

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
The other reviews are correct regarding the lower grades at SHS but grades 3, 4, 5 and 6 have 4 teachers who teach the core subjects and 3 teachers who teach gym, music and art. The principal has one parent meeting at the beginning of the school year and none for the rest of the year. There is no PTA. The music teachers contract was not renewed for next year and he will be replaced with someone who will come in one day a week and run a "glee club". Morale in the staff is extremely low. Tuition bills are being sent out at the end of the school year for the first six months only which would indicate that tuition is going up in January due to falling enrollment and current students leaving.

Sacred Heart School 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2010
- a parent
The principal, teachers and staff are all very dediated, and truly care about the children. It also feels like one big family!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart School
301 North Burgher Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10310
(718) 442-0347
Last modified Sacred Heart School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Sacred Heart School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top