Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Staten Island Technical High School 5

Posted July 10, 2015
- a community member
My nephew is a sophomore at this school and he loves it so much. It's an excelent school and is very hard to get in.

Staten Island Technical High School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My son is about to finish his Sophomore year at Staten Island Technical HS. The school has garnered an incredible reputation over the last several years and continues to turn out well-rounded bright students. Many of the staff members are former students who now teach there, so they know how the school runs from the very beginning. The new principal is actually a former student. He is wonderful, articulate, well-spoken and a very supportive and communicative principal. This school is a melting pot and the kids just mesh with so many different cultures. It offers a host of different after school clubs, sports, etc.


Staten Island Technical High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This school has no limit to the amount of opportunities it offers their students. The entire staff from principal to cafeteria workers have one common goal - how can we make our kids be the best they can be!

Staten Island Technical High School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a student
This school has a welcoming and friendly environment. The teachers are great--knowledgeable and caring. They prepare students for adulthood. I've met so many brilliant and motivated people here who have moved me to become more ambitious. There's a lot of friendly competition that makes the students work harder. Help was always available to me from teachers and friends.

Staten Island Technical High School 5

Posted June 12, 2012
- a community member
As an alumni of Tech, this is the best school in the city. Its small class sizes and challenging coursework prepares you for college and beyond.


Staten Island Technical High School 5

Posted June 30, 2010
- a community member
As an alumni of this school and the aunt to a graduate of this year I can attest to the fact that this is an excellent school that teaches its students the tools to get through all coursess of study not just engineering. By encouraging out of the box thinking, students learn the correct way to approach problem solving which can help with any subject they pursue later in life. The smaller class size ensures that your children's teachers always know who they are - they aren't jsut numbers - and know on the spot how each student is doing. Built an excellent foundation for my college years

Staten Island Technical High School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
I love that this school gives me the opportunity to explore a whole other branch of studies - engineering. I feel at home here and I can't imagine going anywhere else and meeting people as amazing or getting an education that is as fulfilling.

Staten Island Technical High School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
It's possibly the smartest school in New York, ranked #33 in the nation by U.S. News and world report.


Staten Island Technical High School 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a student
It's an amazing school with amazing teachers and students. For me, it's likea home away from home. You get so much out of the school.

Staten Island Technical High School 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a student
Tech is a close community that has a diverse group of students, teachers, and activities. It provides an amazing education and amazing experiences.

Nearby schools

Staten Island Technical High School
485 Clawson Street, Staten Island, NY  10306
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (718) 667-3222
Last modified Staten Island Technical High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top