Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 809 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2013

My son went to Pre-K in this school. I could not be happier. They have a fenominal team of teachers. Their after-school program is good. My son was always treated fairly, especially after Sandy hit our neighborhood. The principal is was very understanding of our situation after Sandy destroyed our home. The amount of help received from this faculty was far more abundant and attentive than any other agency in the months following Sandy. They made sure to follow up on us at least once a month even after the government stopped sending aid. I would definitely recommend this school to all my friends and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

My children (twins) are in the first grade, one has a great class the other is in a class full of disruptive children. The principal is ego driven and dismissive. I am now trying to get my children out of this school. If you have options do not send your children here - especially if you have twins.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

Despite a wonderful team of teachers in kindergarten, my son's first grade experience was terrible and he now goes to a better school where teachers are hired based on credentials instead of to whom they are related. If a teacher does not want to work with children with special needs then she should not teach a CTT class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

The teachers and staff are great and keep the parents informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

It's like a great big family, and what family couldn't use alittle money right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

my grandchildren went there & received an excellent education!!!


Posted October 19, 2010

All 3 of my boys have attended PS 6. It is a really great school. The teaching staff is wonderful from Pre K-5th grade. Academically, this school strives to give the best education possible to its students and strives to push each student to their maximum learning potential. And our Principal is wonderful. She always has a watchful eye over the students academics and tries to identify where students need help. As a parent, there is always some kind of event for the children to attend and to pull our community closer together. It has been a complete pleasure to have my children attend PS 6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

The enitre staff from Principal to Maintenance Staff are excellent. The parents are given many opportunities to interact with the staff and the school. This staff gives 100% and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

We as parents are very fortunate to have such a wonderful and caring Principal, Staff, and PTA, who truley care for our children. I am a mother of Triplets, and my child has an hearing impairment disablity. I am very fortunate to have such wonderful teachers that can provide and dedicate that extra help that she requires to learn. We really do have such a lovely school. I couldn't be more pleased with the education that my children will recieve. Thank You PS 6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The attentiveness of the staff, from kindergarten teachers up to Mrs. Claudio, the principal, are attentive to the needs of the students and their parents as well. Very clean school with signs of student activity throughout the halls and classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

PS 6 is the best school because the Principal and Staff really care about the education that our children receives. It always amazes me how the principal knows each child and how to help them reach their goals so they can be the very best than can be. I have 3 children who attend/graduated from PS 6 and I really would not want them to attend school anywhere else. The whole experience has been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love P.S. 6 because it is all a school could ever be. To me it is number 1. The staff and teachers, as well as the principle is always there when a helping is needed for a student or a parent. It is the greatest school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The principal and staff are wonderful and really care about our childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Excellent School. My twins graduated from here in June 2009. They attended since Kindergarten. The principal Mrs. Claudio is very hands on and has an open door policy. The PTA was amazing. They raised money last year to get smart boards for the school and other needed supplies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

PS6 is a great school. The principal is fantastic, the teaching staff is great. My children learn alot and they are comfortable in school and they like going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

My daughter graduated last year and my son will this year. Very warm and welcoming school and on top of every students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

My daughter is entering the 3rd grade and my son starts kindergarden this year. The school is wonderful and the Teachers are great. The Principal is very friendly and tries to meet everyone!! She is very involved and wants to make everyone happy!! I am very pleased with the school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

My son is in 1st grade. He loves going to school. The teachers are wonderful. They are caring and the children are learning while having fun. My experience with this school is wonderful. The principal and the staff are professional and very nice. I'm very satisfied with PS6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

I have two children who attend P.S. 6. My first child is in 1st grade and my second is in 2nd grade. The school in my opinion is outstanding. Mrs Claudio is extremely smart, caring, professional, and always goes above and beyond for both the children and parents. The teaachers are also very caring, and extremely knowledgeable. My overall opinion of the school is that it is an excellent school where your child can and will succeed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I have three chidren in this school. I find the school to be wounderful . All the teachers and the staff are very open and there for you. As for the pta very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 87% 48%
Hispanic 2 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 235%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 79%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 563 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents52389%
Teachers4083%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 Page Ave
Staten Island, NY 10307
Phone: (718) 356-4789

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 1 Tottenville
Staten Island, NY


Gateway Academy
Staten Island, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT