Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Staten Island, NY
Students enrolled: 753
 

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

23 reviews of this school


Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School 5

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
My son went to Pre-K in this school. I could not be happier. They have a fenominal team of teachers. Their after-school program is good. My son was always treated fairly, especially after Sandy hit our neighborhood. The principal is was very understanding of our situation after Sandy destroyed our home. The amount of help received from this faculty was far more abundant and attentive than any other agency in the months following Sandy. They made sure to follow up on us at least once a month even after the government stopped sending aid. I would definitely recommend this school to all my friends and family.

Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School 1

Posted November 28, 2012
- a parent
My children (twins) are in the first grade, one has a great class the other is in a class full of disruptive children. The principal is ego driven and dismissive. I am now trying to get my children out of this school. If you have options do not send your children here - especially if you have twins.


Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School 1

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
Despite a wonderful team of teachers in kindergarten, my son's first grade experience was terrible and he now goes to a better school where teachers are hired based on credentials instead of to whom they are related. If a teacher does not want to work with children with special needs then she should not teach a CTT class.

Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School
no rating

Posted October 22, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and staff are great and keep the parents informed.

Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School 5

Posted October 21, 2010
- a parent
It's like a great big family, and what family couldn't use alittle money right now.


Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School
no rating

Posted October 20, 2010
- a community member
my grandchildren went there & received an excellent education!!!

Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
All 3 of my boys have attended PS 6. It is a really great school. The teaching staff is wonderful from Pre K-5th grade. Academically, this school strives to give the best education possible to its students and strives to push each student to their maximum learning potential. And our Principal is wonderful. She always has a watchful eye over the students academics and tries to identify where students need help. As a parent, there is always some kind of event for the children to attend and to pull our community closer together. It has been a complete pleasure to have my children attend PS 6.

Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
The enitre staff from Principal to Maintenance Staff are excellent. The parents are given many opportunities to interact with the staff and the school. This staff gives 100% and it shows!


Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
We as parents are very fortunate to have such a wonderful and caring Principal, Staff, and PTA, who truley care for our children. I am a mother of Triplets, and my child has an hearing impairment disablity. I am very fortunate to have such wonderful teachers that can provide and dedicate that extra help that she requires to learn. We really do have such a lovely school. I couldn't be more pleased with the education that my children will recieve. Thank You PS 6.

Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
The attentiveness of the staff, from kindergarten teachers up to Mrs. Claudio, the principal, are attentive to the needs of the students and their parents as well. Very clean school with signs of student activity throughout the halls and classrooms.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School
555 Page Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10307
(718) 697-3760
Last modified Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 6 Cpl Allan F Kivlehan School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top