Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Michael J Petrides School 2

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
The middleschool A.P. Is horrible. She Is not a caring educator. Shes only like The above average student and has no use for the kids with I E P's. She tried to get me in trouble but it backfired . After freshman year i took my child out of the school and finally He is doing wonderful.

The Michael J Petrides School 3

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
My middle school son has been treated badly by many boys in his grade for years. I've heard from other parents, the girls are even worse . The middle school assistant principal, daily shows favoritism to her pet students & ignores the students who they mistreat. No wonder the test scores & school ratings have been steadily declining for years. The principal has allowed the favoritism & academic decline to continue.


The Michael J Petrides School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
This is a great public school. Always greeted with smiles and staff is very quick to handle any issues that may arise.

The Michael J Petrides School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Petrides is a great school overall. The small environment allows for individual attention as needed. Most teachers are attentive and are willing to discuss student progress with the parent.

The Michael J Petrides School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
this is the best school everyone must go and checkout this school my kids went here for middle school but then for high school got into a better school they did not want to leave this school!!!!!!!1


The Michael J Petrides School 4

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
this school is the best in staten island everyone should go here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! my kids go here and they love this school

The Michael J Petrides School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
This school is amazing, they have great opportunities for kids. I've seen a great improvement with children who have attended this school.

The Michael J Petrides School 1

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
It's a shame that this school is doing so poorly as far as education and discipline. .. There are a lot of teachers that display favoritism and it is unfair. Also this school does not challenge students or prepare them for college. I have two students attending Petrides and I am currently in works of having them transfered out. Elementary school is not that bad. Middle school is horrible students do nothing in class other than make videos and play games while teachers sit back and allow this to happen. Bullying is increasingly viewed as an important contributor to youth violence. Well here at the M. J. Petrides teachers bully students as well as students bully each other . This school is clearly not the best keep secret and not family oriented. The administration sweeps it all under the rug. Prinipal, Assistant Principal and most Educators are horrible. Students with IEP's the assistance is horrible. Don't believe the hype!!


The Michael J Petrides School 5

Posted November 02, 2010
- a parent
i love this school. my children feel like part of a family. The mix of students ranging from high school to kindergarten makes this school a family. When we have school events you can really see how we shine!!

The Michael J Petrides School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Very caring staff who genuinly want the kids to be productive members of society.

Nearby schools

The Michael J Petrides School
715 Ocean Terrace, Staten Island, NY  10301
(718) 815-0186
Last modified The Michael J Petrides School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top