Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public
Staten Island, NY
Students enrolled: 1,308
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Michael J Petrides School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
This is a great public school. Always greeted with smiles and staff is very quick to handle any issues that may arise.

The Michael J Petrides School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Petrides is a great school overall. The small environment allows for individual attention as needed. Most teachers are attentive and are willing to discuss student progress with the parent.
1 person found this helpful


The Michael J Petrides School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
this is the best school everyone must go and checkout this school my kids went here for middle school but then for high school got into a better school they did not want to leave this school!!!!!!!1

The Michael J Petrides School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
This school is amazing, they have great opportunities for kids. I've seen a great improvement with children who have attended this school.

The Michael J Petrides School 1

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
It's a shame that this school is doing so poorly as far as education and discipline. .. There are a lot of teachers that display favoritism and it is unfair. Also this school does not challenge students or prepare them for college. I have two students attending Petrides and I am currently in works of having them transfered out. Elementary school is not that bad. Middle school is horrible students do nothing in class other than make videos and play games while teachers sit back and allow this to happen. Bullying is increasingly viewed as an important contributor to youth violence. Well here at the M. J. Petrides teachers bully students as well as students bully each other . This school is clearly not the best keep secret and not family oriented. The administration sweeps it all under the rug. Prinipal, Assistant Principal and most Educators are horrible. Students with IEP's the assistance is horrible. Don't believe the hype!!


The Michael J Petrides School 5

Posted November 02, 2010
- a parent
i love this school. my children feel like part of a family. The mix of students ranging from high school to kindergarten makes this school a family. When we have school events you can really see how we shine!!

The Michael J Petrides School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Very caring staff who genuinly want the kids to be productive members of society.

The Michael J Petrides School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school - having fun getting to know people from year to year!


The Michael J Petrides School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
The consistency of the educational environment, educators themselves, support staff and administration as well as children knowing their classmates and their families for 13 years help in maintaining children's emotional security. This truly allowing them the freedom to grow intellectually.

The Michael J Petrides School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
i love this school because i feel the teachers really do care about the education of our children

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Michael J Petrides School
715 Ocean Terrace, Staten Island, NY  10301
(718) 815-0186
Last modified The Michael J Petrides School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
The Michael J Petrides School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top