Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Charles School

Private | PK-8 | 688 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2008

i love it my child loves it she is in pre-k 4 and can read and add very advanced if you ask me. teachers are great. tuttion is reasonable. i never seen a kid so excited to go to school. i have to think that they are doing something right at that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I am new to St. Charles School and so far it has been a wonderful experience. The teachers are wonderful and my children are getting way more than they did in the public school system where tehy just push the reading adn teh math
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

I do not give it a great rating my child deals with bullies and other disruptions as well in his class setting!!! It can improve on a better social situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

So far so good, my son is in PreK 3 and he loves his teacher, and he comes out of school happy. And tells me about what he did in class. This the beginning for me at this school, I will update as I go along.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

I am graduating SCS this summer and I must comment on how appalling the entire system is! it is shocking that I made graduation without giving up! I personally found the teaching the worst of all! With the exception of about four teachers, the rest do not seem as determined,focused, and/or dedicated on teaching and reaching out to the students to improve their knowledge. I also find the new principal quite irritating! I thought she would improve the school, not destroy its former reputation of being 'the #1 school on SI'.Parents of future SCS students/graduates, I wish you luck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2006

We couldn't be happier. Great school with wonderful, caring teachers. Very academically challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

Good teachers for the most part. However, much work to be done at home. School bags are way, way too heavy for the students. All the textbooks should not be coming home every night. This is a major problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

This is an excellent scchool with excellent teachers that give their all which is alot. My child went on to great things after graduating and my youngest child is doing well there also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

For the most part, caring teachers and wonderful leadership with Ms. Bushman. Lots of parental involvement and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2005

New Principal will hopefully modernize the academics more. Offering a language would be nice. Children are in PreK and Kindergarten and happy so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

Large class size, teachers are older, intimidating to k kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

Academics are mediocre. The science art and music programs are few and far between. Parents are encouraged to be involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2005

This school is horrible. My child said that the teachers did not even try to help him understand what they were learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 52%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • JC Kiernan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Penn Avenue
Staten Island, NY 10306
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 987-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 50 Frank Hankinson
Staten Island, NY


New Dorp Christian Academy
Staten Island, NY


Ps 41 New Dorp
Staten Island, NY



Ps 23 Richmondtown
Staten Island, NY


Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT