Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


59 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Charles School 4

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
In regards to the review dated November 23, 2012, the religious affiliation of the family is NOT why they didn't receive a call. We have been in SCS for 9 years, as PROTESTANTS, & it has never been an issue. The old principal was not well during her last year in office & that could have had an impact on the situation.

St Charles School 3

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
St Charles is going through rebuilding their education program. I have full confidence in the new principal bring St Charles back to excellence. Many children who leave SCS either to go to Public School or Highschool usually will find themselves academically behind. It is true that learning starts at Home with the parents. However with both parents working to survive there is little in their day to go deep in schooling their children. That is why the parents decide to pay for private school instead of free public school. Next year there will be an increase in the tuition. I say why? If you want more money then teach our children more. Plus release the school results in results of the standardize test per grade so parents can see if their investment in St Charles is good or bad. However unlike public schools SCS refuses to share these results to the public and only gives it to the individual student.


St Charles School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
Recently left the school after 6 years or so. New principle shows promise however many parents are uninvolved and children are nasty and belligerent. Many families left the school in 2010-11 and more recently myself and another family from our class 2 years earlier. To be fair, the school itself is fine and teachers are warm and caring. However more parental involvement is needed across the board as we experienced first hand unacceptable behavior from a child not even in our children's grade. The principle acted accordingly and handled it well. Our new school, I'm very happy to say, is like night and day. Hope this helps anyone considering.

St Charles School 2

Posted November 23, 2012
- a community member
As a father of two girls who receive 4 out of 4 in all areas of behavior and minimum 3 out of 4 in school work, I found my experience with St. Charles to be less than expected. I met with the principal and spoke about entering my girls into their school. As a scholar at Columbia University, education and behavior are mandatory for my children. My wife is a School Psychologist and we were ready to sign our girls up to start at St. Charles with our son and younger daughter to follow. We never received the expected call from the principal for our girls' interview. The principal was inviting at first, but after learning that we were a protestant family, she become dismissive and rude. I was shocked by the change in attitude and not receiving a follow-up call reconfirmed my experience. I believe that they made the right choice because there is no way I would allow my children to be exposed to a learned culture of dislike or intolerance towards others.

St Charles School 5

Posted November 16, 2012
- a community member
Excellent school. My two sons graduated from St. Charles in 2002 and 2003. The faculty provided an excellent foundation of learning, which continued on to H.S., College, and now their professional jobs.


St Charles School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
Great School! Great atmosphere!

St Charles School 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a teacher
I see how wonderfully rounded my niece is becoming while attending this school. She is excited to attend daily ( that's half the battle in education today)

St Charles School 0
no rating

Posted November 02, 2010
- a parent
I love St. Charles because the teachers are great and both my daughters are getting an excellent education.


St Charles School 0
no rating

Posted November 02, 2010
- a community member
The teachers and principal contribute to a very conducive atmosphere.

St Charles School 5

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
The classes are amoung the smallest on staten Island. The children stay with the same class since K to 8 so the feel like a family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Charles School
200 Penn Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10306
(718) 987-0200
Last modified St Charles School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Charles School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top