Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
240 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Miraj Islamic School 4

Posted June 08, 2016
- a student
The school has helped me through the years and the time that I have spent there I don't feel a single regret. One of the nicest and dedicated teachers I have met works there and that's Sr. Hanaa Ahmed, the physical education teacher. She works hard for the kids and spends her time to find enjoyable activities for them to enjoy. She is freindly with all the kids and makes sure to include everyone. She taught all of us kids how to play volley ball, soccer,kickball, and countless other sports. Sr. Hanaa makes great trips that allow kids to have fun while learning how to stay active. One of the best things she has put together was Sports day, which was a total success. In conclusion, Sr. Hanaa Ahmed has worked hard as a teacher, which any student may notice when they look at the way she treats people and how much of her work is a success.

Miraj Islamic School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
To other parents that speak up and tell the truth about these 2 schools and not lie!


Miraj Islamic School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
Most teachers are unqualified forget being certified as none of them are. So i am sure there are sincere students but most are not.

Miraj Islamic School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
I dont know because sometimes its alot sometimes its too little. I couldn't make sense of it

Miraj Islamic School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
Maybe they do since they are determined to run the school like a dictator. But thats not the determination we need to be teaching to our children.


Miraj Islamic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
They have no respect for you and try to make you feel like a fool and arrogant when you question them or certain things. Which ends up them being the fool and arrogant at the end when their lies surface. What respect they are gonna teach to students?

Miraj Islamic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
The schools are run like a dictatorship, what compassion they are gonna have??? Its their way which is the most convenient for them and not so for us the parents. If they are doing this to us parents, what caring and empathy they are developing in its students?

Miraj Islamic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
The management is not fair to parents or students, what fairness are they going to teach???


Miraj Islamic School 1

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
This is for the NJ location since NJ location is not listed here, which doesn't look much different than the NY one. Just Stay away. Go to Miraj academy's NJ facebook page to read my full review. Read the real negative reviews here. They are true! I agree with all of them. They need to listen to the parents and get there act together. They really do manage these school like a dictatorship! Its all about their convenience. Not qualified teachers just add to the issue. Regarding all the positive reviews, we all support these types of schools but lying about how they do doesn't help on improving their terrible way of running the school. These to 2 schools get funding from Turgev foundation that is in Turkey. I don't think they have a big budget it issue like other schools that still do much better in everything! Get a grip Miraj Academy, its not about you, its about giving quality Islamic based education to our future generations! That is the only reason we are sending our kids to Islamic schools, this is the passion you need. Running the schools around the schedule and comfort around the management is ridiculous. Don't think you guys know best, as you sure don't! To the Parents that are thinking of this school, PLEASE don't waste your money, more important don't waste the very valuable education time of your children where they can get real education somewhere else! If you have no other choice, send your kids to public and study at Islam at home, it will be better off. Trust me!

Miraj Islamic School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
I love this school. Exactly what is needed for our community. Thank you for your service.

Nearby schools

Miraj Islamic School
307 Victory Boulevard, Staten Island, NY  10301
(718) 816-6161
Last modified Miraj Islamic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top