Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

South Richmond High School Is Ps 25

Public | 1-12 & ungraded | 7 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

The teachers that work with my son are great and I believe they are passionate regarding their jobs in educating our students with special needs and for that I am very appreciative. Moreover, I like that they are reachable and return calls as well as respond via the communication notebook. I am really not that involved with the principal nor have I been involved with the parents as I work full time. Nonetheless I feel I have a good rapport with a few parents in my son's program and I am good with that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

my son went to this school till he was 7, it was terrible, upon our moving out of state , in my effort to obtain the school records, i mentioned to the school's director that my ambitions were to get my son mainstreamed,,he said " never, that will never happen",,excuse me !! how can someone in charge of a special needs school be so negative, practically give a child a life sentence !. !! well,,,,my son,,is now 17, and graduating high school,,,he was mainstreamed at 8, and has done wonderfull. and i was told in the beginning by his new school, that there was very little chance of him ever getting out of that program. i'm so glad we moved. this school was so disorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

The teachers are the best. They really understand the students and know each of them on an individual basis. There are so many programs to fit every child's scholastic need, whether it be in a classroom or in a park setting, working with their hands or working in a hospital setting. Although, I find the administrators (principal and asst. principals) are not easily approachable. When you call, you never can reach them on the first try so you must leave a message, then you might have to call back a few times because no-one calls you back. That is very frustrating, but the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

this is my favorite school. if you asked me to name my favorite teachers, i wouldnt know where to start. they are all great from ms. sheri to danny kelly to april stutz, i love them all. i feel realy lucky to have teachers and paras that are so caring and helpful. i dont know what im going to do when i graduate, but i know i will never forget anything they have taught me. i also wanted to say, april you are one of the most helpful people i know, and ms. sheri i will never forget you, you are my favorite teacher ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

I think the teachers are great with the students. They understand them and they don't intimidate them, they handle them with respect while they discipline them, as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

My son goes to PS/IS 25R at one of their off-site campuses. I find the staff and faculty to be very knowledgeable with the disorders our children have that a general ed public school cannot begin to understand. I've had my son in general ed for most of his school life and it was very hard on him emotionally. He had no friends and the teachers did not understand Asperger Syndrome and what behaviors go with it so they were powerless to teach their other students about tolerance. This school and their off-site campuses practice positive reinforcement and rewards to the students which boosts their self-esteem and worth. The academic program is the same as any other NYC Bd. of Ed school so these children are not being taught at a lower level, they are just understood better. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 38% 19%
White 2 38% 48%
Hispanic 1 21% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 263%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 519 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents20043%
Students25366%
Teachers6673%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6581 Hylan Blvd
Staten Island, NY 10309
Phone: (718) 984-1526

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Gateway Academy
Staten Island, NY



Ps 1 Tottenville
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT