Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Richard H Hungerford School

Public | 11 & ungraded | 351 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

AMAZING!!! The opportunities that they gave my son allowed him to grow, not just educationally, but as an adult person. The staff is very warm and friendly and they REALLY care about all of their students. My son has graduated from this fine school and still, returns to say hello to the teachers and staff that made SUCH an impression on him. if you are looking for the BESt for your "extra special" student, then look no further than this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

Amazing school...with 5 stars for the teachers and therapists....As a parent considering different options their bulletin board is in the lobby displaying all the data the Department of Education website does not have. My neighbors son went there in a wheelchair and diapers at the age of 11...less than one year he is walking and toilet trained...It is Hungerford for me and my child!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Fantastic staff,students,and administration!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2010

I love working with the staff who happens to be the most caring bunch of people I have ever met. I love the kids as well, I am honored to be a teacher here! Dr. McInerney and Mrs Leykam thank you for everything you do!! Go S2!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2010

They are great with kids and every student learns and kids with special needs reach for the stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Teachers and staff that are highly committed to helping special need children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

i think it is a great school with amazing teacher who are caring and educated !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

They have very special and loving teachers and aides! Two thumbs up for a job well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

P.S. 721 is a caring, creative, courageous place...a place where kids struggle against tremendous odds and dedicated, well-trained administrators,teachers, paras, staff,and therapists are with them every step of the way. They coach, prod, help, love, and of course teach these special children every minute of every day. I have two precious daughters who attend this wonderful school, and I have seen them grow by leaps and bounds into a fuller, happier life. The Hungerford school is an A+ operation from top to bottom! My husband and I thank them from the bottom ofour hearts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

It's a great middle school to high school for special needs children. It teaches them the vocational skills needed for later on in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

It is a wonderful school for special needs children and the staff is very supportive, they really want our children to succeed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

It is a great school,caring staff and PTA updates, my son second family , he has come a long way,He makes his bed, so PROUD, now if they could teach my other kids I will be a happy MOM
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

The caring professional attitide and approach to learning and understanding the children they work with .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

The work this school does with there wonderful children is amazing. If any school deserves to win it is this one. They could use the money to help fund the work programs, the beautiful gardens the children plant and so much more. This is a truly wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

one word 'dedication', the one thing that makes this school special & the one thing that every parent wants for their child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Special Ed. teacher, Donna Moschella, makes a difference every day in her students' lives by being an outstanding teacher and mentor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

This school is the best special education school in New York. They have the most caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

P.S. 721 is a school that really addressed and meets the nedds of all students. Staff if not only professdiona, but caring and extemely attentive to the needs to each and every student. It is a great learning and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I love the Hungerford School because it is a very inspiring place to work. Our students are amazing and I am grateful each day to have the opportunity to work with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

They do far and Above work for the students
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 46% 48%
Hispanic 1 26% 23%
Black 2 22% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 6% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 261%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 546 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22067%
Students253100%
Teachers7385%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 Tompkins Ave
Staten Island, NY 10304
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 273-8622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 14 Cornelius Vanderbilt
Staten Island, NY



St. Joseph Parochial School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 13 M L Lindenmeyer
Staten Island, NY



Ps 57 Hubert H Humphrey
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT