Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Smiles Around Us Academy

Private | PK-4 | 54 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $370,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,360.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2012

I enrolled my Daughter in the 3 year old.class this august even though at the time she was only 2 1/2 her teachers are very friendly Imet the princable she seemed friendly and everyone loves my daughter there and having her there.even though she is not russian her class is mixed.the only thing I'm not really happy with is what they feed them ... other then I am happpy to send her there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

this is one of the best schools with highest standards in education around the island, some teacher do have an accent, but I don't mind that at all because they are good at what they do, professional and passionate educators. if you are prejudice, you can go to your public school and get your average or below level of teachers without an accent but don't complain in some few years about your kids not getting accepted into good high schools and colleges. the cost is actually very low for all that you getting and much less then other private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

Terrible place, stay away... Dont waste your time and money!!! Rude staff, noone does what they get paid for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2011

I first visited this school one year ago. I saw things at that time that concerned me. Answers were not forth coming. and most of the staff were limited in English and Education. I revisited the school, this June, and things seemed no better. Please visit before enrolling your children. A Pretty Place is not necessarily a place of Quality. Submitted by a teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

The school is GREAT!!! out of all teachers, only 2 are Russian speaking. classes are mixed... We have a few polish children, an asian girl, a spanish speaking boy in my son's class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

The school overall is not bad.There is a heavy focus on academic success and students are forced to stay on toes and strivr to achieve good results. For example in Pre-K, students receive homework every night, are required to do book presentations. There is a math club, a chess club. They start learning a foreign language as early as Kindergarten. However, there are certain organizational issues that exist and make the school drop in ratings. For example, the website is not updated. During the snow storm the parents were not informed of the school closing or plans regarding re-opening ( although e-mail addresses were collected from satudent's parent's in the beginning of the school year). Class rosters are not available to parents. However, if payment is not received by a certain date, the administration is quick to threaten to not allow the child into the schopol building unless payment is received. The food menu is also not compliant with the standards of the NYS Education department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

This school is for Russian kids only. You are told that it is open to all, but the culture says otherwise. I was interested because of the curriculum, but the directors, principals and staff are rude to you unless you speak Russian. Don't make my mistake- I wasted my child's time there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

I agreed that the staff barely speaks English, even the assistant teacher which is scary. Also, the kids bathroom stinks so much that you can smell it when you pass by. Also the principal is very rude. She basically ignores you even though it's so obviously you're waiting to speak to her. She just let you stand outside of her office without even telling you please wait a moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I take my child to Smiles Around Us the original my child has been in the day care since he was 2 . He has moved and has had the most wonderful education. Keep up the Good work !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

Definately a place to have your child(ren)!!! Not only are the teachers great...but the staff is as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

The school is excellent! If you really care about your child's future success this is the school for you. My daughter attends pre-k and I must say she learned a lot this year. We plan to stay at the school. The teachers are very nice and helpful. They really care about their students. They are very professional and know how to bring the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

I like this school, we transfered our child from the public school, and so happy about it. Now he is first grade, the education is very good. I recomended this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

This daycare is getting worse and worse. It is overcrowded, personnel is rude. Saying rude I mean RUDE! I am withdrawing my child this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

This school is for kids of next generation! challenging, advanced and the 'must do' for gifted and talented children. My son attending 1st grade, and we are planning to stay and continue getting education only at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I love this school, we transferred my son there from another day care when he was 4. The curriculum is very challenging. But he is able to read, write, add and little subtraction and he's only been there for 6 mos. I also really enjoy the fact that they go see plays, and they offer chess as one of the kindergaten subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

My son is a first grader attending Smiles. The program is challenging, parent participation is required. I dont remember first grade being this tough but I think it will be worth the extra work in my sons education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

I first visited this school one year ago. I saw things at that time that concerned me. Answers were not forth coming. and most of the staff were limited in English and Education. I revisited the school, this June, and things seemed no better. Please visit before enrolling your children. A Pretty Place is not necessarily a place of Quality.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 32% N/A
Two or more races 14% N/A
Black 8% 21%
Hispanic 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alexandra Slonim
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian,Non-Denominational

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

351 Sand Lane
Staten Island, NY 10305
Phone: (718) 390-0070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 39 Francis J Murphy Jr
Staten Island, NY


St Joseph Hill Academy
Staten Island, NY



Geller House School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 46 Albert V Maniscalco
Staten Island, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT