Advertisement
Advertisement

North Shore Montessori

Private | 13 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Stony Brook

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $392,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

Wonderful school. We have been a part of this school for 5 years and all three of my kids have had amazing experiences and teachers. I could not have imagined a better place. The Montessori experience is truly something amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

Wonderful, clean, happy preschool and Kindergarden environment! Our son attends Kindergarden and he loves it! He is learning math, to read, yoga, the piano, creative arts, painting! The best school on the North Shore hands-down (and we had toured many before making our decision)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

BEST PRE-K and KINDERGARDEN School on the NORTH SHORE OF LONG ISLAND! FIVE STARS!!!!!!!! Such a WONDERFUL, amazing, and happy environment! Lovely, caring, professional, highly experience staff! We have been sending our son there for Kindergarden. He went there to preschool as well! He is learning to read, math, yoga, baking, takes piano lessons, and we are all so very happy with this school. True Montessori! A true education!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

We truly love North Shore Montessori School. My son is a Kindergartener this year and my daughter will begin preschool next year at NSMS. North Shore Montessori School has provided my son with a strong academic foundation but also so much more. Along with us, the teachers have taught him lessons of independence, problem solving, charity and kindness. We attend many community events held at NSMS such as picnics, dinners and cultural celebrations. I feel that NSMS is a safe and caring environment for all children to learn and have fun together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

This is an excellent school. The quality of education that it offers is outstanding. The curriculum is very diverse in terms of the variety of subjects, i.e., mathematics, sciences, arts, music, physical education, etc., which provides a solid foundation for children allowing them to enter the public (or private) school system at an advanced level. The class sizes afford the teachers to spend one-on-one time with each child as well as with everyone in the class. The materials are great and extremely diverse. The school, its teachers, and administrators instill a great of sense of community and involvement in the school and among parents. Parents are always welcomed and encouraged to take an active role in the school. The costs are very reasonable especially if comparing to other pre-schools in the area. My bi-lingual 3-year old has already learned mathematics and reading (something that I did not when I was his age). I highly recommend this school to anyone looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

The most caring school we have ever been associated with, from the teachers, staff, and Head Of School. Our grand-daughter absolutely loves it and comes home with additional counting, art, reading, music, and athletic skills every day.


Posted June 4, 2013

While North Shore Montessori School does not participate in a public discussion of individual situations, we would like to clarify the educational and professional background of our Head of School. Mrs. Sheehan does in fact hold a Bachelor s Degree in Nursing and was employed for over ten years as a Registered Nurse in the local area. However, Mrs. Sheehan decided to pursue her love of elementary education and returned to college where she obtained her Masters in Literacy Education at Dowling College. Mrs. Sheehan is certified in Elementary Education as well as Literacy Education in New York State. Most recently, Mrs. Sheehan successfully completed her Montessori Management Certificate through the Center for Montessori Education. We take great pride in the example we set for our students and the strong Montessori education we provide to our community. We work diligently to meet the needs of every family that attends North Shore Montessori and will continue to foster those relationships for years to come. If you would like additional information regarding our school, please contact us at 631-689-8273.


Posted June 3, 2013

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about my family's experience at North Shore Montessori. My daughter has been a student here for the last two years and will be staying for Kindergarten in the fall. Under the guidance of her Children's House Directress, she was given the freedom to explore, learn and grow and the encouragement to try new things and make new friends. I was a Class mom during her first year at NSMS and joined the Board during her second year. My younger daughter will be starting in the Children's House this fall as well and I am so excited to give her the opportunity to grow in this environment. We have made the decision as a family that this the kind of foundation we want our children to have. Seeing how happy our children are in this environment assures us that we've made the right choice. I would encourage any parent who has questions or concerns to seek additional information from the Head of School or Board of Trustees. I feel so lucky to have joined such a warm and connected community and I look forward to our years ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

For parents thinking of sending their children to North Shore Montessori, please reconsider.I recently had to pull my child from the school because he was being tormented by another child. The teacher herself called it bullying. When the Board of Trustes and Director found out the teacher used this term they were not happy. Ultimately, with no discipline policy or behavior modification, they did not stop the bullying. They wated to "empower'my son to stand up to the bully . What they should have done was stop the bullying behavior. They were more worried about me not telling anyone in the school "community'. They failed to keep my son safe and correct the other child. Money is more of their concern and their reputation not being tarnished. It didn't help that the Director is a nurse by trade, not an educator. I ultimately pulled my child out of the school. North Shore Montessori is the most costly preschool in town, and fails to keep children safe. What a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

Both my daughter and son attended NSMS from 2 years through kindergarten and their experience made me feel the need to join the board to ensure the school continues it's 40 year history. I cannot speak highly enough of my experiences with the teachers in each of the class formats. My daughter stepped out of her shell in Building Blocks and learned to express her needs. My son enjoyed being a leader in Stepping Stones and learning the fundamentals of Montessori. Both children are very different and we chose different Children's House teachers. My daughter required gentle nudging to try new things and my son needed space to run with his interests and guidance to take them to the next level. They each had a wonderful education and have been more than prepared for first grade upon graduation. Yes, there are costs associated with the running of the school and the amount of work involved in preparing for each student to attend. Please do read the financial details when filling out the enrollment paperwork. I am confident you will find it all explained and that the staff will be able to answer any questions you might have.


Posted October 9, 2011

BUYER BEWARE! The administration tells you it's all about the children, but in actuality it's all about them adding to their bottom line. Make sure you read the fine print before you sign the dotted line when enrolling your child. This school is very costly and they purposely mislead you about their "hidden costs." Yes, you want the best education for your child, but you still need to manage the rest of your monthly expenses. Don't make the same mistake I did - do your homework and read ALL OF THEIR FINANCIAL CLAUSES BEFORE SIGNING ANY OF THEIR DOCUMENTS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

This is a wonderful school. My child is in Kindergarten here and began reading his first week of school. I couldn't be happier with his progress and in both reading and math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

This school is an associate of the AMS. It is more a traditional pre-school than a true Montessori, but still a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Meg Sheehan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

218 Christian Ave
Stony Brook, NY 11790
Phone: (631) 246-6152

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Nassakeag Elementary School
East Setauket, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT