Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful! Couldn't be happier with the teachers and resources. My child loves it!

Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a community member
My name is Brandon Champion and I went to Bear Road for the past 5 years. I was just writing to say that Bear Road is an awesome school. All of my teachers- Ms.. Swenton, Mrs. Wentzel, Mrs. Barbuto, Mrs. Paninski, Mrs. Pontillo, Miss Congdon, and Mr. Wojcik- were phenomenal! I bet every other teacher is great, too. Thank you for the great support, Bear Road! Sincerely, Brandon Champion Age 10


Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School 1

Posted May 04, 2013
- a parent
do not put your child at bear road if they are special needs.the teachers are one sided and do not listen to your concerns unless its what they want.iam trying to move out of this district too.

Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School 3

Posted February 24, 2013
- a parent
Transferring into this school and realizing how far behind this school system is compared to the rest of the country is alarming. Kindergarten is only a half day in this district and the children are barely able to recite their ABCs. The teachers and staff are caring. I think lack of funding play a huge role in the deficits in general. If you have to live in the greater Syracuse area, you could do worse.

Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
My daughter went here and received a perfectly fine education. Moreover, she enjoyed her time spent here, loved the teachers, and speaks of it fondly to this day.


Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School 1

Posted March 16, 2011
- a parent
I have a child with special needs and have been alarmed by the poor educational experience. The teachers and therapy staff have been engaged in excuse-making for poor progress related to diagnosis when much better progress was made the prior year with a more talented staff. The therapy staff has concerned themselves primarily with issues that have nothing to do with their training. The principle and staff have been defensive and incapable of being receptive to constructive criticism. Do whatever you have to do to avoid your special needs child attending this school.

Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
Great school whose staff really help kids succeed and become community oriented

Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
Bear Road Elementary is probably the best school in North Syracuse. Through all of my children, it is the one school that I feel really cares about the kids and I cant thank them enough for giving my children the best opportunities in the district.


Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
My son has special needs and Bear Rd has a fabulous program! He is thriving!

Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
It's a great school. Overall staff, teachers love this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School
5590 Bear Road, Syracuse, NY  13212
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (315) 218-2400
Last modified Karl W Saile Bear Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top