Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grant Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 601 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

well the principle and vp are very nice the teachers are awesome i love the shirts(uniforms) but i think the could improve some thing but i love this school alottt and all the teachers


Posted September 14, 2012

Grant Middle School has SO much potential!! The teachers are excellent; they go well beyond what is expected from them to work with each child and their individual needs. The principal, Mr. DeSantis, is extremely attentive to the students, their parents, and other staff in the school. Grant has gained *unfavorable* reviews due to their performance and the results of students' test scores... However, it is very difficult for the school to work up to a certain level when most students do not speak English clearly and cannot communicate effectively. By learning the history of the Northside, one would understand why it is so difficult to get that *excellent* school rating. The Northside is poverty-stricken and over-populated by refugees from various countires (i.e. within Africa, Asia, Haiti, Indus, Middle East, etc). How does a school work with such population when most of these children were living in refugee camps for months/years without ANY educational OR home structure?? Remember: It takes a village to raise a child. Grant Middle School needs students and parents to be actively involved in their own success, as well!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

I am giving Grant Middle School a rating of 4 stars because the faculty has tried extensively to get on these children's level, and even went as far as enforcing a dress code/uniform policy. Unfortunately, the students refuse to adhere to the policy - and their parents are not making matters any better. The first week of school children are told they must be in uniform (any color polo and khaki/navy/black trousers) by the following week, or they will be sent home. Of course, a large amount of students show up in street clothes and it makes it impossible for the faculty to make it a punishable violation - as majority of the school will be sent home!!! We are a community and we need more actively involved parents to set a prime example for these children!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2012

I spoke with Principle Desantis yesterday, about the kids walking down the middle of Kirkpatrick St., after school. When school let out, Principle Desantis was on Kirkpatrick St., making sure they stayed on the sidewalk. That you so much, Principle Desantis. My rating is for Principle Desantis's quick response, understanding and involvement. 5 STARS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

I am thinking of sending my child to this school. Does anyone know if the school is safe? Is there anything I should know about before I send my 6th grader to the school? Please help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

the schools ok,but its very underrated.the students bring it down,but when you get to go their you will be attached to it and will not want to leave.i didn't like the school at first,but it started to grow on me.the teachers do need to harden up(in other words give more homework and stop treating 7th graders like 5th graders).other then that its a great school.the principle is ok too,but its just the students that bring it down
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

no parental support poor social skills (most adults in building) no support for creative teachers use of foul language in presence of parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

I am a 8th grade student and I really dont have much nice to say about grant. i'm glad i'm not gonna be there next year. i had a couple nice teachers that stayed after and helped me but alot are mean to eachother. the principal isnt good and doesnt listen to teachers or kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

Mr.Wolfe is a great and much needed asset to grant! He is outside interacting with the kids, patting them on the back. There are some very caring and dedicated teachers as well, mr. Maxwell, mr. Fiello, mrs. Victoriano. With parental support,these teachers definitely do their part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

I really think Mr. Wolf has made a positive influence on the School. Send your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

I have to say at first I stuggled.But I really think Mr.Wolf is on top of his game and I encourage all parents to give this man a chance.I kept at it wer parents we have an obligation to if we feel the school is failing or thier not noticing speak up!I can say him and the social worker at school what a team.Thankyou!! To all the parents I think we should all come together and make this about our school and stop the worries and get more involved. Though I think this school with this administrator has a fighting chance.We wouldn't give up on our kids,lets not give up on thier school either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

I was a grant 7th grade student mt name is marany and for anyone who plans to go to grant. know that you are making a great choice. It's the best school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2005

This is my childs first year at Grant.And if I had it my way it would be the last.This school is out of control.I have call there many time.You never get anyone to call you back and half of the time no one picks up the phone there.You always have to leave a message.At one point it took me 3 days before I talked to somebody and that was having to call everyday 3 times a day.My child has been bullied many time and nothing gets done.I have even went higher up and still have got no where.My child is now at the point that She/he does not want to go to school.How unfair for my child not to be able to get the education He/She deserves.I have to drive my child everyday to and from school watching him/her run into the school scared.Somebody need to take control of these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

I am very dissatisfied with the favoritism that is visited upon certain students leaving others without the consideration deserved. Also, teachers allowed to pick and choose which children they do and do not teach then being allowed to eject the unwanted students from their classrooms. Their response to these students is to find anything these children do a suspendable offense so they do not have to deal with them. The principal does not get involved with the parents and the vice principal acts as if he always has something more important to do than speak with parents. I have even had an instance where property was removed from my son that was very expensive and the vice principal claimed it was stolen from his desk. I filed claim with the district 1 plus years ago and still have no satisfaction or even a response.I am removing my sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

For the most part the teachers are ok. I do not like the policy that the Phys. Ed. Dept. has of making kids change to mark them as 'prepared'. Kids are cruel, esp. in this school and I can see how having to change in front of others could traumatize a child w/ self-esteem issues. I also think they need to get the frequency of violence under control. My daughter has been attacked twice, for no reason. In one instance the teacher was not in the classroom! I have a neice that's scared to death to walk to and from school. Granted the fault falls squarely on the shoulders of the parents that allow their kids to act like that, but the school has to accept some responsibility. I think the work is made extra-easy to ensure kids pass so the school's #'s look better on paper. Worst school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2003

let me say this is one of the worst schools there is. my son has been there 2 years and will not be for much longer. my son goes to school to learn not to be scared about what's going to take place today.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
18%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

209 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
16%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
15%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 39% 19%
White 2 33% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 13% 9%
Hispanic 2 12% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 289%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 13%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DEAN DESANTIS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Grant Blvd
Syracuse, NY 13208
Phone: (315) 435-4433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lyncourt School
Syracuse, NY




Frazer K 8 School
Syracuse, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT