Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grant Middle School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a community member
well the principle and vp are very nice the teachers are awesome i love the shirts(uniforms) but i think the could improve some thing but i love this school alottt and all the teachers

Grant Middle School 3

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
Grant Middle School has SO much potential!! The teachers are excellent; they go well beyond what is expected from them to work with each child and their individual needs. The principal, Mr. DeSantis, is extremely attentive to the students, their parents, and other staff in the school. Grant has gained *unfavorable* reviews due to their performance and the results of students' test scores... However, it is very difficult for the school to work up to a certain level when most students do not speak English clearly and cannot communicate effectively. By learning the history of the Northside, one would understand why it is so difficult to get that *excellent* school rating. The Northside is poverty-stricken and over-populated by refugees from various countires (i.e. within Africa, Asia, Haiti, Indus, Middle East, etc). How does a school work with such population when most of these children were living in refugee camps for months/years without ANY educational OR home structure?? Remember: It takes a village to raise a child. Grant Middle School needs students and parents to be actively involved in their own success, as well!!!


Grant Middle School 4

Posted September 14, 2012
- a parent
I am giving Grant Middle School a rating of 4 stars because the faculty has tried extensively to get on these children's level, and even went as far as enforcing a dress code/uniform policy. Unfortunately, the students refuse to adhere to the policy - and their parents are not making matters any better. The first week of school children are told they must be in uniform (any color polo and khaki/navy/black trousers) by the following week, or they will be sent home. Of course, a large amount of students show up in street clothes and it makes it impossible for the faculty to make it a punishable violation - as majority of the school will be sent home!!! We are a community and we need more actively involved parents to set a prime example for these children!!!!

Grant Middle School 5

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
I spoke with Principle Desantis yesterday, about the kids walking down the middle of Kirkpatrick St., after school. When school let out, Principle Desantis was on Kirkpatrick St., making sure they stayed on the sidewalk. That you so much, Principle Desantis. My rating is for Principle Desantis's quick response, understanding and involvement. 5 STARS.

Grant Middle School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
I am thinking of sending my child to this school. Does anyone know if the school is safe? Is there anything I should know about before I send my 6th grader to the school? Please help!


Grant Middle School 3

Posted September 09, 2009
- a student
the schools ok,but its very underrated.the students bring it down,but when you get to go their you will be attached to it and will not want to leave.i didn't like the school at first,but it started to grow on me.the teachers do need to harden up(in other words give more homework and stop treating 7th graders like 5th graders).other then that its a great school.the principle is ok too,but its just the students that bring it down

Grant Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 15, 2008
- a parent
no parental support poor social skills (most adults in building) no support for creative teachers use of foul language in presence of parents

Grant Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 15, 2008
- a student
I am a 8th grade student and I really dont have much nice to say about grant. i'm glad i'm not gonna be there next year. i had a couple nice teachers that stayed after and helped me but alot are mean to eachother. the principal isnt good and doesnt listen to teachers or kids.


Grant Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Grant Middle School 3

Posted November 05, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grant Middle School
2400 Grant Blvd, Syracuse, NY  13208
(315) 435-4433
Last modified Grant Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grant Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top