Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a community member
I go to H.W. Smith School and it is so diverse that we have a day that students from my school were their traditional clothes . I have good teachers especially in 8th grade when I really needed them.my teachers are Mrs. Kent ,Mrs. Earl/Ms. Short ,Mr. Sheldon And Mrs. Walsh

Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
The diversity. There are more than 35 different ethnicities/cultures represented in this school from every part of the world. A unique school that offer unique opportunities and challenges


Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School 5

Posted September 23, 2008
- a student
h.w smith middle school the best middle school out of all the middle schools in syracuse the teachers are the bomb big up mr. ledo the 7 grade spanish teacher ms. short english teacher and mrs.kent the math teacher

Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School 5

Posted July 22, 2008
- a student
h.w smith is a great school.I have learned a lot from the teachers that go there.Its not like an ordinary school our teachers actually take the time out of there busy schedules to hep us with what we need help with.They help us grow up and prepare for college.Yea sometimes we might be a little crazy but i love it there i have grown up accept people for who they are . I have learned a lot about many other cultures

Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School 5

Posted July 18, 2008
- a parent
H.W is more Diverse then Ed Smith. At H.W Smith the teachers take the time to actaully work with the kids. my daughter attended Ed Smith in Kindergarten and I immdeiatley took her out. the first day of school and she already new 7 new swear words. My daughter is currwnt attening H.W smith and is in the Honor Society and plays sports


Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School
no rating

Posted June 27, 2008
- a parent
My daughter was attending Kindergarten and it was great. Her teacher was Mr. Youngs and I think he is excellent and the school is very good. I am very happy that I choose this school

Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School
no rating

Posted June 18, 2008
- a student
H.W.Smith is a good school because it is very diverse and we get to learn about different cultures

Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School 5

Posted February 27, 2007
- a parent
What a wonderful, international community at H. W. Smith. There are children from all corners of the world, learning together, meeting high standards, and excelling. This is a great place to learn to be a leader in the 21st century world.


Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School 4

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
H.W. Smith has one of the highest levels of quality academic programs in all of the city schools. Their music, and art programs are great. There is wonderful parent involvement as well. It's such a great school that some of the teachers have their own children going there for a quality education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School
1130 Salt Springs Road, Syracuse, NY  13224
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (315) 435-4490
Last modified Hurlbut W Smith K 8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top