Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lincoln Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
My Daughter has remained strong given the situation she is faced w/ each and every day!

Lincoln Middle School 2

Posted March 22, 2015
- a community member
This school is a very unsafe school. There are always fights, insulting, yelling, etc. Some of the students here are beyond disrespectful, and when they get into fights or harm someone they get suspended for a few days and are seen in the same classes. i have never felt safe here, and the administrators are terrible at helping a victim of bullying. That being said, most of the teachers are good at teaching, and are very strong teachers. There is a science/engineering program, a tutor program, and advanced classes. I have mixed feelings about this school, but you should decide whether you want to go, or if you want your child to go.


Lincoln Middle School 3

Posted September 01, 2014
- a community member
this school sucks dont bring your kids here the teachers will yell at you for the stupidiest things but when there is a fight you just get oss for 3 days makes no sence like you could get after school detenchon for talking like come on not every kid is soooo bad like give some off them a break god im going for 7th i went there last year i hate it. student

Lincoln Middle School 1

Posted April 07, 2013
- a community member
I hate this school So happy I'm leaving next yr The teachers cant handle their kids so the skippers just run around wherever

Lincoln Middle School 1

Posted August 09, 2012
- a parent
My child had the WORST experience at this school. Bullying and fighting at this school is awful and rampant. I was told that teachers are not suppose break up fights between students. Basically a fight can turn into a free for all and does.


Lincoln Middle School 1

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
School principal told us that our A student should "not attend the after school program" as a way to avoid bullying. When a child told my son that he would "snuff him", the counselor said it was a "normal middle school experience" and that the (the school) "could not control the behaviors that the children brought from home". God! STAY AWAY!

Lincoln Middle School 4

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
This school has excellent teachers who maintain a passion for their subjects despite the constant struggle with poverty that plagues our city schools. They have on and off-site tutor programs, band and chorus, art, an engineering club, as well as affiliations with the local Universities (LeMoyne, Syracuse University, Onondaga Community College).As a 2nd year parent, I've been in the school during the schoolday plenty of times, and I know that problems are addressed promptly and effectively. Although the overall scores are not great, my son has been able to take advanced Math, is in an AVID program (Advancement Via Individual Determination), where capable students are focused on a college-track curriculum and goals. I've always been treated with respect by teachers, administrators, guidance counselors, etc. and my concerns have had a good airing and actions taken. My son has done great on state exams, so I know the teaching's effective.

Lincoln Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2008
- a student

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lincoln Middle School
1613 James Street, Syracuse, NY  13203
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (315) 435-4450
Last modified Lincoln Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top