Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Webster Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 598 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2011

I agree with the previous review...Its not as good as it was for my previous grandchildren and boy do I see a BIG DIFFERENCE ! Before ,the school was superb with behavior , discipline , and education...


Posted July 6, 2009

My daughter just finished kindergarden and she knows how to read, write, add, and subtract. Her cofidence went up in reading and she's not afraid to try new things, she not shy anymore and work well with others. I think webster is the best school in syracuse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

i went to this school when i was younger and i have sent my daughter their and i think its just as great as it was when i was their keep doing a great job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

I love this school academically, but there are numerous 'professionals' that should not be in this field as a career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

1,000 stars. Miss Williams is excellent! You cannot trust your child with anyone else. Her team at Webster is excellent, it's a blessing to have a team that cares and that is truly dedicated. This is truly a home away from home where your kids learn and feel loved and appreciated for thier hard work,no child is left behind. Mrs. Hanes is also a great Vice Principal. The best! She makes a great role model for these kids, Isn't this what we look for in a school. Your children will thrive here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2006

Webster Elementary is an excellent school. I can not say enough positve things. They have high expectations and do not lower the expectation which is very important to my husband and I. The principal ia a devoted, caring role model for all the children. The staff at Webster is like no other. It is truly a great place to send your children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

Webster school is the best school.They are very loving and caring.That school is like one big family.I wish it would not end at 5th grade.I wish it went to 12th.Ms Williams and Ms.D run that school properly.Every child gets the help that they need.They have so many programs for childen in need.My child got some extra help and now she is a head of grade level and is doing very well.I want to thank all the staff for a great job done with these chilren.I wish all the city schools were run like Webster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

Both of my children have gone from Kindergarten to 5th grade at Webster. My youngest is graduating this year. I can't say enough about how wonderful this school is-words can't describe! You will never find an admnistrator that cares more than principal Maxine Williams. She makes you feel welcome every time you walk in the bldg. and always makes you feel that your questions are valid and your opinions matter. She showers praise on all of 'her kids', yet rules with a firm hand. She hires only the very best teachers and they are all very dedicated. Aaron Adams has looped w/ my child twice and I'm so glad he did! He is a God-send to me and my family. I will miss everyone there dearly when we have to leave. I feel they've truly prepared my kids for lifelong success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

My son entered this school with very low grades and disliked school severely. Until coming to Webster, the principal and staff are all great! My son went from a D average to an A/B in one year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 44% 48%
Black 2 23% 19%
Hispanic 1 13% 23%
Two or more races 2 12% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 6% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 210%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 283%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 23%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. IVERNA MINOR

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Wadsworth St
Syracuse, NY 13208
Phone: (315) 435-4670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lyncourt School
Syracuse, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT