Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | PK-6 | 278 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Syracuse

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2013

We loved many aspects of this school. Our child went through the Tiny Eagles program for 3 year olds and we loved that program. The teachers were very invested in the kids and our child learned a lot during the school year. We were surprised to learn that Pre-K enrollment is kept open indefinitely or until they fill the 34 spots. The principal and other teachers seem oblivious to the notion that this could be a detriment to each child's learning experience. State funded Pre-K classes have a maximum class size of 20. While I understand that BSS is a private institution and can in many ways make its own rules, typically private schools strive to give children "better" experiences than what they would receive in public school. An easy solution would be to break up the class into two sections but the administration is opposed to doing this. I am writing this review so that perhaps others can be aware of this school's policy before they enroll their child in the 3 year old program only to be surprised (as I was) when they hear about the class size. The kindergarten and up grades have fewer than 20 children in each class because they open two sections for each grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

If you are looking for a school in the city of Syracuse that offers an education that far exceeds public school, the BSS is the answer. Faculty and staff at Blessed Sacrament are top notch! Mrs. Polcaro is the kind of principal that all children and parents deserve. She works hard for the children so that they get the best education possible. She uses her resources in creative ways to provide programs for children that would otherwise be unavailable in public school. She treats each child and their family as her own family. This is true for all faculty and staff at BSS. When I made the choice to go private, I was amazed at how much more BSS had to offer to my child and my family. If you want the private school experience at a reasonable cost, BSS is a great answer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

Blessed Sacrament School is fantastic. My kids LOVE the school and the teachers. They go above and beyond to make sure that my children are succeeding in their academic studies. Mrs. Polcaro is the glue tat holds it all together and keeps the school moving in the right direction. Updating the technology and learning programs to make sure that my children get the best education they can. I would recommend this school to any parent that wants their child to have a learning environment that allows their child to grow in the presence of God and excell to their highest potential with a staff that will nuture them every step of th way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

I am thankful for the education that my son receives at Blessed Sacrement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

We made a good choice when opting to send our son the Blessed Sacrament School. The area public schools leave much to be desired. The principal Mrs. Polcaro is the best. She is receptive to the childrens needs and goes above and beyond to comfort parents when an issue arises ( as they may with kindergarteners.) Ms. Baird (K) is a fantastic teacher and her TA Ms. Kupla is very kind and helpful. My son has truly benefited from becoming a student at this wonderful school.- Rachel, Proud parent of a BSS student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

This is an excellent Catholic school with an outstanding prinicpal, dedicated teachers and caring parents. My two children thrive in this environment and I would encourage any and all parents to come and visit. Once you do, you will be certain to register!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

This is an excellent school that is dedicated to children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Blessed Sacrament is one of the best schools in this area. The teachers are caring and dedicated and the principal is the best! My children are receiving an excellent education here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

This school offers a variety of academic programs also a variety of dance, music, art, sports and after school activities including karate. The PTA is very active and many parents participate in everyday events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

My son is doing so well at Blessed Sacrament! Most of the teachers are kind, knowledgeable, accessable and caring! I don't think I've ever met a more exciting and caring principle as Mrs. Polcaro. Their test scores are some much better than Syracuse City Schools and these Charter schools that were suppose to save our public school kids. Catholic or not, private school is the way to go & Blessed Sacrament is an outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This is a good school my children do enjoy it there is always room for improvement with anything but over all it has been a good and positive thing for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 52%
Black 8% 21%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Andrea E. Polcaro
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Syracuse
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3129 James Street
Syracuse, NY 13206
Phone: (315) 463-1261

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Living Word Academy
Syracuse, NY





Lyncourt School
Syracuse, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT