Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Ludden Jr Sr High School

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Syracuse

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2012

I can't tell you what the school is like now, but I can tell you what it was like from 1987-1993 and the memories from the standpoint of a 37-year old. I came from the city schools - getting into fights every day and subsequently in the principal's office every day. When I went to Ludden, all that changed. The people were of high moral and ethical character and most were bright. The focus was on religion, academics, and sports rather than materialism and physical prowess. I thrived at Ludden and went on to a successful college and professional career. The only downsides that I can think of was lack of exposure to multiple cultures and religions and the academics came up short in teaching real writing. In college, I was shocked that most people were not Catholic and needed to take a preparation course in Writing before moving to higher level courses. Other than that, I would probably say Ludden was extremely beneficial to me in terms of academics and more importantly growth as a person.


Posted June 17, 2012

I am a current student at Ludden. I have been at Bishop Ludden since 7th grade and it has just been wonderful. It was the best decision I have ever made. I have always been in a Catholic school, since Kindergarden, so it's all I know. You get used to the uniforms and of course the strict dress code but it is all worth it. The teachers here really do care and want you to do well. Everything is passable, these teachers don't want you to fail, they want you to live up to your full potential. When considering schools please look at Ludden, you won't be disappointed.


Posted September 21, 2010

an outstanding school ... what a welcome change from public schools ... my son has made great strides both academically and socially ... as a parent I could not possibly be more impressed !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

Save your money! My child had been going to private schools her whole life, so we had decided Bishop Ludden was a good fit. How wrong were we! The teachers and staff care more about dress code rather than education and personal growth. The first two years she attended Ludden, she loved it. After that, new administration took over, and it was all down hill from there. She always felt that she had not learned anything in school. She was not prepared for college. The only thing Ludden taught her was how to properly tuck in a shirt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

i am currently a sophomore at BLHS and i really do love it. i have attended catholic schools all my life and i dont know anything differeny. we do have to wear uniforms and the rules may be a tad more strict but after going 10 years wearing a uniform you kind of learn to love it. i mean you dont know anything else. it really cuts down the judgements. like every school there ar clicks but no body really only hangs out with just one specific click. every body knows everybody and everyones friends. its a really close community and most of the teachers are so nice. Ludden is just a really big familyy :)the lunches kinda stink but that is also a minor issue. if you want your child to have a sense of community and to belong somewhere Ludden is deffinately the place to go. Belong.Believe.WorkHard.Succed.BLHS
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2009

Great school. Great teachers. Great students. Ok sports. Expensive lunches. And expensive school.Small enivornment, this school is basically great if your child is very bright.Also if you'd like to pay about $4,000 a year for your child to attend a school that really is just is good as any other. Reconmendation>? Henninger high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2009

BL has taken great steps forward since its new principal assumed the helm in 2008. It offers a quality education and family atmosphere. I have four children. One went there (college now), two go there, and one will attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

I feel bishop ludden school does offer many advantages in a private school education, with a caring community, and strong parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

A safe and quality atmosphere led by teachers who actually care. Ludden has a large yet close-knit community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

An excellent alternative to urban Jr High during a crucial time in students' lives. HS provides basic courses, sports, very minimal extra curricular activities. Music and Language departments are good, Math very weak. A mix of urban and suburban students provide a good alternative to city schools, however, less value for suburban students. Students excel because many come from families with strong values. Too much focus on discipline and not enough on quality education. Parental involvement limited to fundraising and not on education improvement. Political. Administration is not supportive of students and focuses on what they are doing wrong instead of building leaders and self-esteem. I'd opt for suburban schools. For city students the trade off is less negative peer pressure and social issues for lower teacher quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

When I entered my child in this school I was hoping to give to her a better level of education then a public high school could provide. I have not been disappointed with the physical attributes of this school. It is a school that provides smaller classrooms, great teacher-to-student ratios and a better moral code. What I have been disappointed with, though, is the level of teacher caring and interaction with students. In two of my childs classes it seems that the teacher could care less about the level of class education and participation. It seems that these teachers are just spending time at the school until something better comes along. Again, the level of staff participation and student interaction is great and the individual attention to students also is wonderful but I feel that the teachers should be more diligently reviewed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

FYI the Bishop Ludden Web Pages General - http://www.bishopludden.org/ Sports - http://bishopludden.assistantcoach.net/ Homework - http://luddenresource.blogspot.com/
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 52%
Black 7% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 1%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 1% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Sandore
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • NCSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Syracuse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

815 Fay Road
Syracuse, NY 13219
Phone: (315) 468-2591

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Frazer K 8 School
Syracuse, NY


Roberts K 8 School
Syracuse, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT