Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Syracuse Hebrew Day School

Private | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Syracuse

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $149,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2014

Accepting a teaching position at SHDS was the wisest and most rewarding career decision I ever made. Everyday, I have the opportunity to teach with pride and passion in a welcoming and supportive community. I am not the only one. Across our school, our administrator, teachers, staff and students greet each day with enthusiasm for the learning and adventures that lie ahead. Do we teach the NYS Core Curriculum? You bet we do. Our students learn what every other student across the state does, and so much more. They learn what it means to be part of the Jewish community, how to be a person of character, and a love of learning that sustains them for their lifetime. I honestly believe there is no better school for Jewish children in this area. Whether you are Jewish or not, yet want your children to benefit from an academically challenging, faith and character based education, SHDS is a great place to be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2012

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15


Posted March 9, 2012

As a parent of a child who benefits greatly from a smaller class size, I have been thrilled with the way my son has blossomed at the Syracuse Hebrew Day School. The environment is warm and nurturing, and the teachers know how to encourage my child to meet his potential -- and stretch himself a little. The school has been very responsive in providing extra support to allow him to succeed. There is no other school in town I believe could do more for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

Hi Everyone, As you make your decisions about where to send your child for kindergarten, I want to put in a plug in for the Syracuse Hebrew Day School. I will be sending my third child there in the fall, and I want to tell you how happy we have been with the program. The students get a wonderful education with lots of personalized attention, and are generally above grade level when they get to the public schools (my oldest graduated last year and is now at JD middle school). There are lots of extra-curricular activities as well -- a school play, student council, chess club, chorus, art club, etc. Although it is a Jewish school, there is a wide spectrum of families -- some non-Jewish, some inter-faith, some non-practicing Jews, and some from all streams of Judaism. It truly is a community school. There is a warm, nurturing environment at SHDS, and you really feel like the teachers care. There are also lots of opportunities for parents to get involved if they want. One other nice feature is that there is a full-day kindergarten (the day runs until 3, but for kindergarten, you can start at 8, 9, or 10).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

There is no place I would rather send my children than the Syracuse Hebrew Day School. They receive a top-notch dual-language education, highly individualized attention, and a concrete sense of their own Jewish identity. The Day School community has become a sort of extended family for us, and I treasure the years we get to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Every school should be as good as this one! The teachers are excellent and very caring -- they take a lot of time with each child and work to bring out the best in all kids. Their standardized test scores are very high, and the graduates go on to do extremely well in public (and private) schools, and get into good colleges. In addition to taking a second language, and getting high school credit for work done in elementary school, they offer lots of co and extracurricular programs in the arts, chess, IT, etc. They have outdoor recess every day and weekly assemblies -- every child gets a chance to shine and to develop leadership skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

They claim to individualize, but for 1000$ a month your child does the NYS curriculum, cookie cutter style and takes Hebrew. B Its Jewish community is great, but its teaching of general studies is out of date with poorly trained teachers. It is one size fits all with a very high number of children with needs in the classroom and teachers who are not trained in special needs. We felt there were more rules than necessary at the expense of child development or learning, especially for kids without special needs. For a school claiming individualized attention, they can't and won't deliver. This is not a school for kids who need normal socialization or are on the brighter end of the spectrum. Its a great school for shy or quiet kids who need lots of structure or coddling and a small environment of very well sheltered kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

Wonderful school! My children went on to great success in public school and college. SHDS gave them confidence and a tremendous foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 52%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Barbara Davis
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • JCDSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5655 Thompson Road
Syracuse, NY 13214
Phone: (315) 446-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT