Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Syracuse, NY
Students enrolled: 898

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jamesville Dewitt High School 5

Posted December 22, 2014
- a student
Jamesville DeWitt High School has offered me opportunities that I don't think many other area public schools offer. I have been involved in many of the schools well run clubs and have seen the vast majority of my teachers be professionals who both have a passion for their classes and a gift for educating. Furthermore, the counselers are incredibly committed to their students and have the time and patience to work with student schedules and the college application process. On a more practical note, I have really enjoyed the block scheduling system. I feel that it giveshould teachers more time to teach interesting material and allows for less of an emphasis on formulaic curriculum.

Jamesville Dewitt High School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Teachers and staff are deeply committed to students, and the curriculum includes great elective offerings.


Jamesville Dewitt High School 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
This school has a wide range of electives to choose from. They have a strong sports team, science olympiad and incredible musical program. The school is not overpopulated like some in the area, and the teachers stay in touch. The counselors help students with everything they may need and there are many opportunities for all types of clubs for every kind of kid. You can't get lost in the building, it's well staffed and classes are anywhere to 10-25 a class. They offer Chinese! They also offer an engineering program through RIT with credit (starting in 9th grade). My child enjoys the school, the friends they've made and the teachers. Parent involvement is incredible! Our principal had won awards with his leadership. This place is a nice little secret, and I call it our private school!

Jamesville Dewitt High School 1

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
I have recently moved because of this school they completely isolated my child just because he was asking to many questions. As a result he failed all of his tests. I would definetly not send my child here. I informed the principal but he did absolutely nothing.

Jamesville Dewitt High School 5

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
Fantastic School that mainstreams all students. Currently this is the best highschool in the area.


Jamesville Dewitt High School 5

Posted October 23, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jamesville Dewitt High School 3

Posted August 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Jamesville Dewitt High School 2

Posted June 19, 2005
- a parent
This school is the only one in the area that does not have a push-in policy for students with learning disabilities. It is a good school for high achieving students, but the students with learning 'differences' are pulled out of the main stream, discouraged from taking standardized exams, or to try to get a high school diploma. They are swept under the rug & sent off for vacatonal training. I would advise any parent from sending their child to this school if they need extra help in attaining a high school diploma.


Jamesville Dewitt High School 5

Posted January 28, 2005
- a parent
Wonderful school, great programs.

Jamesville Dewitt High School 1

Posted October 29, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jamesville Dewitt High School
6845 Edinger Drive, Syracuse, NY  13214
(315) 445-8340
Last modified Jamesville Dewitt High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jamesville Dewitt High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top