Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pocantico Hills Central School 4

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends this school. The school is very tight knit and all of the kids from pre-k though 8th grade get to know one anothers names. My daughter is excelling here and they have a lot to offer in terms of the camp, pool and aftercare program. I wish the school offered more in terms of diversity not only among students but also amongst teachers.

Pocantico Hills Central School 5

Posted March 02, 2012
- a community member
I've been doing my research about this school and have heard and read many good things about it!


Pocantico Hills Central School 5

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
This is a wonderful, small school, with caring teachers and a true sense of community. The newly-hired superintendant (2010) is a true educational leader who understands the budget process and respectfully expects the teachers to provide their best work at all times. She is giving the teachers the tools they need to succeed and has high expectations for everyone who works in the school. The parents here are very involved. Because of its small size, the student/teacher ratio is generally very low, and students receive all of the individual attention that they need.

Pocantico Hills Central School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pocantico Hills Central School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pocantico Hills Central School 5

Posted June 14, 2009
- a parent
My oldest son attended PHCS for Pre-K on 2006 (Mrs. Carrigan) and K on 2007 (Mrs. Distefano). Every member of the staff, from school bus driver and monitor, to teachers and aids, administrative members and principal where always kind and dedicated to every and each child and parent. The facilities are very well taken care of and beautiful. The curriculum for every level was always wonderful. They prise the kids' efforts and always welcome parents input, comments and involment. The extra curricular activities were always fun to participate and the summer program was awesome. My son loved his teachers, friends and school; it was very hard to leave when we moved to TX in 2008, otherwise my 3 kids would have attended this school from star to finish. We'll always remember Pocantico Hills as the best start my son could ever have for his education.

Pocantico Hills Central School 5

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
An outstanding, well maintained school with caring and capable teachers, a good support staff overall, a very involved PTA and a budget concious school board. This school also offers an after school program and an excellent Summer Camp. It actually feels like an expensive private facility in a quaint country setting. The school is currently in the planning stages of upgrading it's facilties as well.

Pocantico Hills Central School 5

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
This is our first years in Pocantico Hills school, our kids are in 1st and 2nd grade. We are very happy, staff is very kind and hepfull, teachers are great. The school looks like a big family everyone knows each others, and installation are great.


Pocantico Hills Central School 4

Posted November 27, 2007
- a parent
While the administrative staff is excellent and the art/music programs are outstanding as noted, there are problems at this school. An anti-bullying program was instigated by the school for good reason.

Pocantico Hills Central School 5

Posted November 26, 2007
- a parent
This is an excelent school. The administrative staff, especially Dr. Elliot and Mr. Steele make it their business to know each child and their parents. The classroom sizes are small and the atmosphere is that of an expensive, private school. I have had my children in schools on both coasts, public and private. This school is the best. We are staying here! I would hioghly recommend this school to anyone cpnsidering moving to this area.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pocantico Hills Central School
599 Bedford Road, Tarrytown, NY  10591
(914) 631-2440
Last modified Pocantico Hills Central School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pocantico Hills Central School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top