Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hackley School

Private | K-12 | 841 students

We are best known for academics & close community.

 
 

Living in Tarrytown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $626,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

Very caring faculty that pays attention to each student's individual needs. The Lower School culture emphasizes openess, fairness and equality. Top-notch facility. Highly engaged parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

My two children had exceptional K-12 experiences at Hackley. The academic rigor is not for all, but it pays off for those that apply themselves. Several top college admissions directors have said to me that they believe, of the NY metro-area schools, Hackley provides the best prepared college candidates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

Our child had a bad experience at Hackley. The pressure, the lack of differentiated curriculum, the unresponsiveness to bullying, and a very unresponsive teacher had our child's self-esteem and confidence in ruins after three years. Happily, she's thriving at her new school, both academically and socially. She loves to go to school now. We expected more in terms of nurturing and attention to learning styles and modern teaching techniques. Any problems we encountered were attributed wholly to us, the school did very little to make our daughter's experience better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

Hackley is a rigorous school with high standards and a strong community. It's not quite as nurturing or warm as we'd hoped -- they seem to value competition and self reliance to a great extent. The PA is very active and the campus is beautiful with acres of land and many playing fields.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

My daughter is in 6th grade and has been going to Hackley for 2 years. We left the public school as she was not being challenged in the class and did not feel the kids in her class were particularly motivated to learn. Its been a huge difference at Hackley, the kids setup their own 4 way video conf calls so they can do homework together (mostly) and she has a great group of friends who are all motivated. The teachers for the most part have been very good and are very helpful with after class instruction and additional enrichment. I think overall its a great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

This school is by far the BEST private school in Westchester and Fairfield counties. There is absolutely no comparison on academics, sports, nurturing environment, eclectic mix of families, international perspective, beautiful and green grounds, sense of community...simply an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

Hackley is the best of the best in all regards.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2009

14 years at Hackley, and I m grateful to be part of a community that cares for my kids, with teachers who go the distance to support their individual progress. Teachers who taught my son in Lower and Middle School are still there watching him grow and cheering him on. You really get the feeling that all these kids are 'our' kids, and that everyone is watching out for them. The school has raised money to give our kids beautiful facilities, to hire and keep great teachers, and to offer financial aid to families who need it. A vigorous fundraising program benefits us all and shows how much people care about Hackley. Sure, tuition is higher than it was when we came, but look around -- this is what independent school costs. I think parents who say 'it's all about money' are missing the point! It's all about education and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2009

Our children have attended four schools, and Hackley is certainly the best. We chose Hackley because of the warmth, support, and caring we witnessed in the community during visits. Not only have we found an embracing peer and parent group, but none of the dozens of schools we ve visited over the years could provide a superior education. The teachers are inspiring educators, passionate about their subjects, devoted to students: they work with them often outside class, attend games and performances, and more. The school s tuition increases have averaged below 6.1% over the last five years (in keeping with schools our friends children attend). We see where our money goes: attracting quality faculty and maintaining tremendous facilities including a beautiful Lower School (where our daughter goes) and an almost-complete Upper School library wing. Our children love going to school and hate getting sick what more could a parent want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

We have been with Hackley for over 15 years combining the years of our children at Hackley. The most notable attributes are the campus itself which is beautiful. The education is adequate except for English which has most emphasis and, as a result is very good. The middle school has notorious teacher turn over, some teachers are most concerned about themselves - not for the students. Hackley has a very short fuse for disciplining boys (not so much the girls which often are the insitgators). The headmaster is at the core of this. Annual tution increases average over 7.5%, 2009/2010 was a first exception in 12 years. Most sports are below average as the top has no interest in athletics. When I look back at Hackley and try to see one image, one theme, the one thing that makes it special - it is all about the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Enormous emphasis on character education. The motto 'Enter here to be and find a friend' extends beyond the students and faculty to the parents as well. The administration is extremely responsive to the needs of both the kids and their parents. The writing program is exemplary - it begins in first grade and trains the students so well, they find college 'a breeze.' Admissions favours siblings and children of faculty which brings down the academics and behaviour (especially in the Lower School), but since the class size is so small and administration is so responsive, ultimately each child's education is personalized (which is what you're paying for!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Hackley has many fine attributes-its class size, teacher responsiveness and upper school faculty being among the foremost. We have had two children there since kindergarten and are generally pleased although we find it a bit too 'traditional' in its approach and not as creative or artistic as hoped (the arts are not emphasized). There are many sports however none are top-caliber as the upper school seems to recruit for academics almost to the exclusion of athletes or athlete/scholars. A new Athletic Director this year promises potentially more. Parents are involved and supportive overall. Price tag seems to go up exponentially in line with Manhattan schools with whom they are beginning to compete. They take themselves seriously in the best of ways and are very strict especially with the boys. Curriculum and tracking accomodate many but in reality they only accept the brightest and emphasize achievement. Some amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

A great huge educated 163 acres of school. It goes from K-12 and has many houses. It has a lower school house,middle school house, upper school house, a library, a gym, 6 turf fields, indoor pool dome, outdoor pool, 5 baseball fields, 2 football fields, 3 soccer fields, 1 art house, 1 lockeroom house/ maintnence, headmaster house, admissions house, facolty house, bording school houses for boys, bording school houses for Girls, open fields, squash quarts, tennis quarts, Cafeiteria( apart of LS,MS,US, playground, park, forest, parking lot, lake, river, stream, and more. 73% of boys who go to Hackley school go to Ivy League schools when they get older. Education is tied for best education for MS in the U.S.A. It won best quality teacher awards. It is definately one of the best schools on the planet.


Posted June 27, 2008

I am currently a student in the Upper School and I can honestly say that I love just about everything about Hackley. New students- making friends is not difficult at all! People are so friendly, teachers are great and available for extra help. I was having trouble with a particular class, and the teacher met with me privately once a week for months to tutor me. Hackley has been a great experience so far, and I wouldn't leave Hackley for anything. I'll definitely be sad when I graduate!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

I am currently an upper school student at Hackley and I am very pleased with things. The classroom size is so much smaller than public schools, the largest class having 15 students (except for band). The teachers are more willing to give extra help and tutoring outside of class. There is more trust between faculty and students, which leads to more freedoms as well as responsibility. The curriculum is more challenging and accomodating to every child's intellectual ability. The cafeteria food is excellent, as well as their athletic department with a wide variety of sports. Hackley school definitely takes every student's needs into perspective.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

My daughter goes to Hackley and I am very pleased with how the school runs and their curriculum. The school has a variety of activites so that everyone can find one that they like best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

I go to Hackley School and have been going there since kindergarten. I think that since Hackley has such a small and close community that that makes children who go there and new students, feel more at ease. Everyone is so friendly at Hackley. The food is *AMAZING* and so are the sports. The academics are good and so is the music department. I love Hackley and plan on going until I graduate in 2012.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2006

Our experience at Hackley was mixed. Because we have moved a few times our children have attended both private and public schools. We put them into Hackley with very high expectations that the school's reputation for academics would be a good fit. We found that, as one of the previous writers noted, some of the teachers were coasting. They were not as good as the teachers our children had at public school. The work was no harder and in some cases was less interesting than what they had received in public school. On the other hand, the administration is definetly on top of things and very responsive to both kids and parents in a way that few public schools can match just because of numbers. Ultimately we removed our kids as there was insufficient 'value added' to justify the tuition. The cafeteria is a real plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

We have been extremely happy with Hackley. Indeed, it has exceeded all our expectations. Our son is in the lower school. Its Director truly loves the children, teachers are enthused, and our son has always felt secure there as part of a nurturing community. We have been impressed by the many levels of learning that occur within each class. Also, the school is incredibly responsive to parent questions and engages in candid discussions regarding curriculum, differing studies and approaches to teaching, etc. A great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

A 'grind' school but generally a pretty good place for high school. Fairly traditional 'prep school' atmosphere with a healthy dose of athletics thrown in. Good faculty - not the highest caliber of coaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 52%
Asian 11% N/A
Black 8% 21%
Hispanic 6% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Walter C. Johnson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (914) 366-2636

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
  • squash, fencing, indoor track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • squash, fencing, indoor track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

293 Benedict Avenue
Tarrytown, NY 10591
Website: Click here
Phone: (914) 631-0128

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




W L Morse School
Sleepy Hollow, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT