Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Tarrytown, NY
Students enrolled: 842
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hackley School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Very caring faculty that pays attention to each student's individual needs. The Lower School culture emphasizes openess, fairness and equality. Top-notch facility. Highly engaged parent community.

Hackley School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My two children had exceptional K-12 experiences at Hackley. The academic rigor is not for all, but it pays off for those that apply themselves. Several top college admissions directors have said to me that they believe, of the NY metro-area schools, Hackley provides the best prepared college candidates.


Hackley School 2

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Our child had a bad experience at Hackley. The pressure, the lack of differentiated curriculum, the unresponsiveness to bullying, and a very unresponsive teacher had our child's self-esteem and confidence in ruins after three years. Happily, she's thriving at her new school, both academically and socially. She loves to go to school now. We expected more in terms of nurturing and attention to learning styles and modern teaching techniques. Any problems we encountered were attributed wholly to us, the school did very little to make our daughter's experience better.
4 people found this helpful

Hackley School 4

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
Hackley is a rigorous school with high standards and a strong community. It's not quite as nurturing or warm as we'd hoped -- they seem to value competition and self reliance to a great extent. The PA is very active and the campus is beautiful with acres of land and many playing fields.
1 person found this helpful

Hackley School 5

Posted July 01, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in 6th grade and has been going to Hackley for 2 years. We left the public school as she was not being challenged in the class and did not feel the kids in her class were particularly motivated to learn. Its been a huge difference at Hackley, the kids setup their own 4 way video conf calls so they can do homework together (mostly) and she has a great group of friends who are all motivated. The teachers for the most part have been very good and are very helpful with after class instruction and additional enrichment. I think overall its a great environment.


Hackley School 5

Posted April 10, 2011
- a parent
This school is by far the BEST private school in Westchester and Fairfield counties. There is absolutely no comparison on academics, sports, nurturing environment, eclectic mix of families, international perspective, beautiful and green grounds, sense of community...simply an amazing school.
1 person found this helpful

Hackley School 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a student
Hackley is the best of the best in all regards.

Hackley School
no rating

Posted December 30, 2009
- a parent
14 years at Hackley, and I m grateful to be part of a community that cares for my kids, with teachers who go the distance to support their individual progress. Teachers who taught my son in Lower and Middle School are still there watching him grow and cheering him on. You really get the feeling that all these kids are 'our' kids, and that everyone is watching out for them. The school has raised money to give our kids beautiful facilities, to hire and keep great teachers, and to offer financial aid to families who need it. A vigorous fundraising program benefits us all and shows how much people care about Hackley. Sure, tuition is higher than it was when we came, but look around -- this is what independent school costs. I think parents who say 'it's all about money' are missing the point! It's all about education and community.


Hackley School 5

Posted November 08, 2009
- a parent
Our children have attended four schools, and Hackley is certainly the best. We chose Hackley because of the warmth, support, and caring we witnessed in the community during visits. Not only have we found an embracing peer and parent group, but none of the dozens of schools we ve visited over the years could provide a superior education. The teachers are inspiring educators, passionate about their subjects, devoted to students: they work with them often outside class, attend games and performances, and more. The school s tuition increases have averaged below 6.1% over the last five years (in keeping with schools our friends children attend). We see where our money goes: attracting quality faculty and maintaining tremendous facilities including a beautiful Lower School (where our daughter goes) and an almost-complete Upper School library wing. Our children love going to school and hate getting sick what more could a parent want?

Hackley School 3

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
We have been with Hackley for over 15 years combining the years of our children at Hackley. The most notable attributes are the campus itself which is beautiful. The education is adequate except for English which has most emphasis and, as a result is very good. The middle school has notorious teacher turn over, some teachers are most concerned about themselves - not for the students. Hackley has a very short fuse for disciplining boys (not so much the girls which often are the insitgators). The headmaster is at the core of this. Annual tution increases average over 7.5%, 2009/2010 was a first exception in 12 years. Most sports are below average as the top has no interest in athletics. When I look back at Hackley and try to see one image, one theme, the one thing that makes it special - it is all about the money.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hackley School
293 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY  10591
(914) 631-0128
Last modified Hackley School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Hackley School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top