Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
842 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hackley School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Very caring faculty that pays attention to each student's individual needs. The Lower School culture emphasizes openess, fairness and equality. Top-notch facility. Highly engaged parent community.

Hackley School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
My two children had exceptional K-12 experiences at Hackley. The academic rigor is not for all, but it pays off for those that apply themselves. Several top college admissions directors have said to me that they believe, of the NY metro-area schools, Hackley provides the best prepared college candidates.


Hackley School 2

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
Our child had a bad experience at Hackley. The pressure, the lack of differentiated curriculum, the unresponsiveness to bullying, and a very unresponsive teacher had our child's self-esteem and confidence in ruins after three years. Happily, she's thriving at her new school, both academically and socially. She loves to go to school now. We expected more in terms of nurturing and attention to learning styles and modern teaching techniques. Any problems we encountered were attributed wholly to us, the school did very little to make our daughter's experience better.

Hackley School 4

Posted October 26, 2011
- a parent
Hackley is a rigorous school with high standards and a strong community. It's not quite as nurturing or warm as we'd hoped -- they seem to value competition and self reliance to a great extent. The PA is very active and the campus is beautiful with acres of land and many playing fields.

Hackley School 5

Posted July 01, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in 6th grade and has been going to Hackley for 2 years. We left the public school as she was not being challenged in the class and did not feel the kids in her class were particularly motivated to learn. Its been a huge difference at Hackley, the kids setup their own 4 way video conf calls so they can do homework together (mostly) and she has a great group of friends who are all motivated. The teachers for the most part have been very good and are very helpful with after class instruction and additional enrichment. I think overall its a great environment.


Hackley School 5

Posted April 10, 2011
- a parent
This school is by far the BEST private school in Westchester and Fairfield counties. There is absolutely no comparison on academics, sports, nurturing environment, eclectic mix of families, international perspective, beautiful and green grounds, sense of community...simply an amazing school.

Hackley School 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a student
Hackley is the best of the best in all regards.

Hackley School
no rating

Posted December 30, 2009
- a parent
14 years at Hackley, and I m grateful to be part of a community that cares for my kids, with teachers who go the distance to support their individual progress. Teachers who taught my son in Lower and Middle School are still there watching him grow and cheering him on. You really get the feeling that all these kids are 'our' kids, and that everyone is watching out for them. The school has raised money to give our kids beautiful facilities, to hire and keep great teachers, and to offer financial aid to families who need it. A vigorous fundraising program benefits us all and shows how much people care about Hackley. Sure, tuition is higher than it was when we came, but look around -- this is what independent school costs. I think parents who say 'it's all about money' are missing the point! It's all about education and community.


Hackley School 5

Posted November 08, 2009
- a parent
Our children have attended four schools, and Hackley is certainly the best. We chose Hackley because of the warmth, support, and caring we witnessed in the community during visits. Not only have we found an embracing peer and parent group, but none of the dozens of schools we ve visited over the years could provide a superior education. The teachers are inspiring educators, passionate about their subjects, devoted to students: they work with them often outside class, attend games and performances, and more. The school s tuition increases have averaged below 6.1% over the last five years (in keeping with schools our friends children attend). We see where our money goes: attracting quality faculty and maintaining tremendous facilities including a beautiful Lower School (where our daughter goes) and an almost-complete Upper School library wing. Our children love going to school and hate getting sick what more could a parent want?

Hackley School 3

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
We have been with Hackley for over 15 years combining the years of our children at Hackley. The most notable attributes are the campus itself which is beautiful. The education is adequate except for English which has most emphasis and, as a result is very good. The middle school has notorious teacher turn over, some teachers are most concerned about themselves - not for the students. Hackley has a very short fuse for disciplining boys (not so much the girls which often are the insitgators). The headmaster is at the core of this. Annual tution increases average over 7.5%, 2009/2010 was a first exception in 12 years. Most sports are below average as the top has no interest in athletics. When I look back at Hackley and try to see one image, one theme, the one thing that makes it special - it is all about the money.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hackley School
293 Benedict Avenue, Tarrytown, NY  10591
(914) 631-0128
Last modified Hackley School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Hackley School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top