Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westlake Middle School 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
The school is unsatisfactory. My son goes to Westlake Middle School, and is being deprived of resources that can help him become a better student, and pass this year.

Westlake Middle School 1

Posted April 14, 2012
- a parent
There are 2 levels of special education classes, For some reason special education students in their last year of high school must choose between regular education classes or a more sever special education class.


Westlake Middle School 4

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
The superintendent has made major changes to the district. The district is now on course to be a high-performing school. Special needs students will also get the attention they deserve. Finally! The only problem I see is the lack of acceptance of students that are in anyway different than them. Physical bullying is not the problem. Teasing and excluding is done on a daily basis.

Westlake Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a student
This school is very strict but gives students some freedom ad i have learned a lot from this schol. Go westlake!!

Westlake Middle School 1

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
Maybe bullying didnt exist in 2004, but it has run rampid in 2008, nobody is held accountable for thier actions.Its a disgrace and the general music classes are a joke.


Westlake Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2008
- a parent
The middle school is adequate but the inability of parents to support academics more (rather than sports) is a disappointment. Students on the field seem more important than students in the classroom and that all starts at home. The competition with clothing, parties and sports is primary to parents here and that decreases the value of a great education. There really should be more classes of modern day use, such as updating the home and careers program, ridding the tech ed (does anyone really need to carve wood anymore), languages should begin in 6th grade, not 7th, and more choices in art & theatre are needed (general music?). Overall, the school is OK for a middle class suburban area.

Westlake Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
Don't know what the Katonah [arent is talking about! This school has a 'double-accelerated' math program, one of only two in the entire County! My child finished all of his math requirements for college by Sophomore year in High School thanks to this program and now, in his first semester of college, already has 36 college credits because he was able to start getting AP credit in Westlake Middle School. Can only assume this other parent's child did not qualify for the intensive math program at Westlake (they won't find the same progam in Katonah, which has only a normal math curriculum).

Westlake Middle School 2

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
A very, very disappointing school. The percentage of students going to universities is low compared to others in the area and the math/science curriculum is woefully inadequate. So bad that we moved to a different town (Katonah) and are much, much happier for doing so.


Westlake Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2008
- a parent
My child LOVED west lake! The teachers are great and the principle is, as my child calls him, 'awesome'. I think that the education is just right and the students are wonderful.

Westlake Middle School 2

Posted April 05, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westlake Middle School
825 Westlake Dr, Thornwood, NY  10594
(914) 769-8540
Last modified Westlake Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westlake Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top