Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holmes Elementary School 3

Posted October 08, 2015
- a student
It's a good school but I think they should do more after school things and the teacher always talk to each other but should pay more attention to the students.

Holmes Elementary School 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Holmes needs to get it together. They have a second step program, but they don't teach It to the children. The staff are never on the same page it is almost like they don't know what they are doing. Some of the staff are very rude and not so nice to some of the children. I have to move out of the district just to get my child out of that school. I have never in all they years of my children going to school have I EVER seen such a disfunctional school


Holmes Elementary School 4

Posted January 25, 2008
- a parent
Holmes is an excellent school which is committed to meeting the needs of each child. They have a wonderful character education program that focuses on students strengths and rewards them for becoming leaders and role models. The gifted and talented prgram as well as the new literacy program focuses on student interaction and builds upon their interests. My child's writing and reading has improved. The extracurricular programs are growing and their music and arts program was rated by Channel 2 last year as one of the best in the area.

Holmes Elementary School 4

Posted April 22, 2007
- a parent
This school serves a transient population - but does not discriminate against those families who do not own homes. They are proactive in providing testing and special services for all children who attend. They bend over backwards to make sure the needs of students (both high and low achievers) are met. There is a newer principal who is determined to make Holmes better. They are putting a new discipline system in place, but it really hasn't been much of a problem in the 5 years we have been at this school. Most of the discipline problems are the same kids time after time, and the majority have problems in the neighborhood that are brought to school. It has low parental involvement, which has hindered some of the parent association programs.

Holmes Elementary School 3

Posted March 07, 2006
- a parent
The staff at holmes does great job with there students. My son's teacher often gives him the one to one attention he needs. They really to give the children a variety of activities to make learning fun.


Holmes Elementary School 3

Posted January 23, 2006
- a parent
I believe Holmes has alot to offer but I feel they may be overwhelmed right now but the amount of children enrolled. I'm concerned with the level of safety for the kids. I drop my daughter off in the morning for the breakfast program and sometimes, the teachers aren't even there to supervise or their busy talking to each other instead of focusing on the kids. I sometimes become fearful that people come and go too freely among the children and there out to be stepped up security.

Holmes Elementary School 3

Posted October 27, 2004
- a student
I am a former student now out of high school and this school is in need of serious changes in how it treats its students and how it handles matters of discipline.

Holmes Elementary School 4

Posted July 21, 2004
- a parent
This is a great school as far as the education goes. However, you may experience some discrimination based on their assumed social status of you. They will treat you nice if you own a home but if you are a renter you can forget it. Hopefully things will change soon if they get rid of some teachers who promote this type of behavior.


Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a student

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holmes Elementary School
365 Dupont Avenue, Tonawanda, NY  14150
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (716) 874-8423
Last modified Holmes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top