Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Tonawanda, NY
Students enrolled: 388

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holmes Elementary School 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Holmes needs to get it together. They have a second step program, but they don't teach It to the children. The staff are never on the same page it is almost like they don't know what they are doing. Some of the staff are very rude and not so nice to some of the children. I have to move out of the district just to get my child out of that school. I have never in all they years of my children going to school have I EVER seen such a disfunctional school

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Holmes Elementary School 4

Posted January 25, 2008
- a parent
Holmes is an excellent school which is committed to meeting the needs of each child. They have a wonderful character education program that focuses on students strengths and rewards them for becoming leaders and role models. The gifted and talented prgram as well as the new literacy program focuses on student interaction and builds upon their interests. My child's writing and reading has improved. The extracurricular programs are growing and their music and arts program was rated by Channel 2 last year as one of the best in the area.

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holmes Elementary School 4

Posted April 22, 2007
- a parent
This school serves a transient population - but does not discriminate against those families who do not own homes. They are proactive in providing testing and special services for all children who attend. They bend over backwards to make sure the needs of students (both high and low achievers) are met. There is a newer principal who is determined to make Holmes better. They are putting a new discipline system in place, but it really hasn't been much of a problem in the 5 years we have been at this school. Most of the discipline problems are the same kids time after time, and the majority have problems in the neighborhood that are brought to school. It has low parental involvement, which has hindered some of the parent association programs.


Holmes Elementary School 3

Posted March 07, 2006
- a parent
The staff at holmes does great job with there students. My son's teacher often gives him the one to one attention he needs. They really to give the children a variety of activities to make learning fun.

Holmes Elementary School 3

Posted January 23, 2006
- a parent
I believe Holmes has alot to offer but I feel they may be overwhelmed right now but the amount of children enrolled. I'm concerned with the level of safety for the kids. I drop my daughter off in the morning for the breakfast program and sometimes, the teachers aren't even there to supervise or their busy talking to each other instead of focusing on the kids. I sometimes become fearful that people come and go too freely among the children and there out to be stepped up security.

Holmes Elementary School 3

Posted October 27, 2004
- a former student
I am a former student now out of high school and this school is in need of serious changes in how it treats its students and how it handles matters of discipline.


Holmes Elementary School 4

Posted July 21, 2004
- a parent
This is a great school as far as the education goes. However, you may experience some discrimination based on their assumed social status of you. They will treat you nice if you own a home but if you are a renter you can forget it. Hopefully things will change soon if they get rid of some teachers who promote this type of behavior.

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a former student
THis school is way cool!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holmes Elementary School
365 Dupont Avenue, Tonawanda, NY  14150
(716) 874-8423
Last modified Holmes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holmes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top