Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverview Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 299 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2013

Overall, we have been very happy here, the teachers are great ! we have had some problems with bullies in the past that were not handled correctly but things seem to have improved over the years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

I agree that the majority of Riverview's staff is well-qualified,& the majority of the teachers&teacher aide's are mostly kind and helpful. I do however have a problem with my son's 3rd grade teacher,he's been teased, made fun of, and ridiculed INSIDE his classroom as well as on the bus; when my son's teacher decided she was ready to discuss these things with my son, another student wanted to ask her a question-she never came back to speak with my son, and this has happened on at least 3 occasions. His teacher is more concerned with calling our house TEN times a day. Im NOT exaggerating AT ALL. Also, when my Mother passed away in Oct., she pulled my son aside& told him that there was "no reason he needed to miss a week of school because of his Grandmother's funeral"- This was extremely hurtful& inappropriate. M Mother partially raised my son, and we lived with my parents for 7 out of the 8 yrs of my son's life. She brings up his "focus", well, if i was being teased constantly, and NO ONE would help me, I'd have a hard time concentrating too. My son recieves help at home everynight &he works hard-which leads me to ask-If SHE'D address the bullying-would my son please her THEN??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

I am parent of two elementary children, in Pk and 1st grade, for the past three years my children have been involved in the Tonawanda City School district. My oldest son started Pk at Mullen School and then the following year at Riverview, while some parents in the community have had some reservations about the City of Tonawanda s redistricting, I can say as a parent who frequently volunteers in the schools and attends the community events, each and every teacher and staff member has truly amazed me with their sincere dedication and support to this district no matter where they are placed to teach. Many of our teachers have small children and families of their own and do not live in the Tonawanda district, yet they always put 110% effort into their roles as teachers and mentors and participation in community affairs. I choose to live here and am committed to making this a great place to live and have my children attend school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school year they redistricted our schools, and at Riverview we have Pre-k thru 3rd grade. We also have a bunch of new teachers at Riverview and they all seem to be on the same page. Our kids are excited about the new changes at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers at Riverview make it a warm and inviting place to be. My daughter feels safe there and is excited to wake up each day to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female46%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population42%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English38%
Non-migrant38%

Math

All Students40%
Female38%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population45%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 90% 48%
Hispanic 2 3% 23%
Two or more races 2 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
Black 2 1% 19%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 153%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 5%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55 Taylor Dr
Tonawanda, NY 14150
Phone: (716) 694-7697

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT