Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cardinal O Hara High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Tonawanda

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2009

There is only one place like Cardinal O'Hara Large enought , but small . Excellent academic envirnmert and student particapation This school is as close to a family as a school can get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

This is my son's 2nd year at COHS and although we were a little apprehensive about coming to the school, (but we also knew we didn't want an extra large all boys school either) it turned out to be an excellent choice. All faculty is accessible and seems to know all the students by name. I didn't think I would like a co-ed school, but he came from a co-ed elementary school, so it was an easy transition. The school is the cleanest high school I have ever seen and the administration seems to genuinely care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

I am a current parent of a student at this school and i am very impressed with the over all school. My son is a junior and although he plays football for the school, he also is aware that academics are of the utmost importance and he definitely is gaining knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

School academics should not be rated by sports. This school is improving the sports program as funds dictate. A new association with the Niagara Regional Theater Guild will enhance the performing arts genre' for this school COH is and will continue to offer the best programs it can to it's students and faculty today and in the future.


Posted May 21, 2007

Great school! needs more variety in Sports. Would like to see wrestling,hockey,weight training, archery, golf....something besides the standard football,baseball,basketball. Sports is such a big thing for kids now I think alot of kids are lost to the school because of this
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

O'Hara has a very nice group of students, a nice learning atmosphere, the school is very clean and the teachers are very good. Academics are above average, while sports are only so-so. It is not cheap to go here, but good morals and respect are taught very well. I like that the girls and boys learn in seperate classrooms in the lower grades. I'd give the school a B with a possible B+ on the horizon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

Cardinal O'Hara is one of the greatest high schools in the WNY area. It has small class sizes which ensures that each individual student is given the chance to ask questions and receive the help that he/she needs. The art and music program have blossomed of late and the athletic program has made a quantum leap to excellence. Particularly impressive are the passing rates on the NYS Regents exams. On the English exam last year, 95% of those taking the exam passed and 55% received a grade of 85% or higher which is the mastery level. Cardinal O'Hara's dedicated faculty ensure that each student will be challenged to reach for excellence and to attain it through hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

This is a great school for those seeking a co-educational catholic high school. They offer a wide range of activities from school plays and drama club to sports as well as national honor society. They strive to have every child achieve the best grades possible. The offer ap classes and regents diplomas. They are unique because students are well rounded with the incorporation of religion classes and religious activities. All in all when my kids are ready for high school this is where they are going!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 3, 2004

An excellent school to go to. I suggest going to the school and taking a tour, talking to the staff and teachers!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 2, 2003

All three of my children have enjoyed and made the most of their Cardinal O'Hara high school experience. While being involved in many extracurricular activities, they have made life-long friendships. And though participation in sports was not a determining factor in our decision, they have enjoyed participating as three-sport athletes. However, over the past two years, we have come to believe that if you are a female athlete, O'Hara probably is not the school for you. Very regimented in male traditions - women cannot be part of the booster club (only to work concessions) and make decisions. Very disheartening.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 52%
Black 19% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 3% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Holzerland
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

39 Ohara Road
Tonawanda, NY 14150
Phone: (716) 695-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Baptist School
Tonawanda, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT